Intercollegiate Chess Tournament

The nineteenth annual intercollegiate chess tournament between Harvard, Columbia, Yale and Princeton will be held in New York in the rooms of the West Side Republican Club, December 22, 23 and 24. The prospects for the University team this year are good, as three members of last year's team, which tied Yale for first place, are still in College.

The following four men have been picked to represent the University: A. G. Johnson '11, F. P. Byerly '11, C. S. Hadley 2L., and W. B. Harris '13. They will play in that order.

The intercollegiate cup, presented to the league by E. A. Caswell, will be held one year by the winning team. In order to gain permanent possession of it, however, a team must win it for ten successive years. Of the eighteen tournaments held so far, Harvard has won nine and tied one, Columbia has won six, Yale one and tied one, and Princeton one. Since last year's tournament resulted in a tie between Harvard and Yale, the chances for any one team soon to gain permanent possession of the cup are slight.