Konno Tops Yale Aces In NCAA Swim Opener

The seven Crimson swimmers who left yesterday for the N.C.A.A. championships at Princeton saw Yale's "undefeatable" swimmers Jimmy McLane and defending champion John Marshall defeated last night by Ohio State's outstanding freshman, Ford Konno, in the 1,500 meter freestyle event.

Ohio State, the nation's top team, should go on to take the championship. Besides having sure double-winners in Dick Cleveland in the sprints and Jack Taylor in the backstroke, the N.C.A.A. ruling permits the Ohioans to use four great freshmen, including Konno, while Yale cannot take advantage of its fine first-year squad.

The Harvard swimmers who will compete tomorrow are sprinters Dave Hedberg, Ron Huebsch, John Millard, John McNamara, and Phil Pratt, plus diver Pete Dillingham and breaststroker Ken Emerson. Hedberg has turned in the fourth best time this year of the 50-yard freestyle entries and Dillingham won the Eastern low-board title two weeks ago.