Student car-owners from other states who do not comply with the Massachusetts statutes concerning auto registration, driver's licenses, and insurance are liable to prosecution here as "trespassers on the highway" if they are involved in an accident, Alvin R. Randall, Chief of the University Police, said last night.
Warning that Massachusetts registration requirements are stricter than those of most states, Randall said that the courts here regard any non-complying out-of-state auto as a "trespasser" when driven on the highways.
Should such a car be involved in an accident, he continued, "both the owner and driver may be denied recovery for injuries to themselves and to the vehicle, and, on the other band, may be held liable for personal injuries and property damage arising out of the accident."
Proper registration is not all that is required; students must also comply with the Massachusetts requirements for drivers' licenses. Forty-five states and Canadian provinces have "reciprocity agreements" with Massachusetts; men from states not on this "approved list" must procure a Massachusetts license, Randall said.
The fee for a license in this state is $8--$5 for a two-year license, and $3 for the examination.
Registration reciprocity is granted in Massachusetts for cars from 69 states and Western Hemisphere countries.
Raudall reminded students their car insurance must comply within 80 days with the Massachusetts minimums which are: "insurance against liability for personal injury or death involving one person, other than the driver or guest, in the amount of $5,000, and involving more than one person in the amount of $10,000."