Arts Academy Elects 24 Faculty Members

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences yesterday announced the election of 24 members of the University faculty to its fellowship. At the same time the Academy elected Francis Birch, professor of Geology, to one of its vice-presidential positions for the coming year.

Francis Keppel, dean of Education at the University, was among the new members. Also named were John P. Coolidge, director of the Fogg Art Museum, Elliott Perkins, master of Lowell House, George H. Williams, acting dean of the Theological School, and Edwin B. Newman, chairman of the Psychology Department.