Weiland Picked as 'Coach of the Year'

Cooney Weiland, coach of the varsity sextet, was named Hockey Coach of the Year and was presented the fifth annual Spencer Penrose Trophy at the coaches' convention Saturday night at the Hotel Broadmoor in Colorado Springs.

Weiland, who has coached the Crimson for the past five seasons, was cited at the meeting for the improvement his team showed over the 1953-54 squad, which had a record of ten wins, ten losses, and two ties.