Fainsod Committee

Dean Ford, speaking in President Pusey's absence, yesterday announced the members which Pusey appointed to the Faculty committee to study decision-making in the Faculty.

The Committee, chaired by Merle Fainsod, Carl M. Pforzheimer University Professor, is to report within 90 days. A resolution supported by the Harvard-Radcliffe Policy Committee--asking Pusey to appoint students to the committee--failed to gain the four-fifths majority needed for discussion under new business at yesterday's Faculty meeting. It will appear on the March Faculty docket. The committee members are:

Howard Berg, assistant professor of Biology; Konrad Bloch, Higgins Professor of Biochemistry; Giles Constable '50, Henry Charles Lea Professor of Medieval History; Kenneth M. Deitch '60, assistant professor of Economics; Andrew M. Gleason, professor of Mathematics; Harry T. Levin '33, Irving Babbitt Professor of Comparative Literature; and James C. Thomson Jr.; assistant professor of History.