Azelby Garners Award As New England's Best Defensive Football Player

Harvard football Captain Jos Azelby was one of two players selected to receive the 45th annual George "bulger" Lowo Awarll, presented to the outstanding New England collegiate football players.

Azelby was picked as the top defensive player, and Boston College split and Brian Brouns was asmed the top offensive player.

"I was totally abocked," said Azelby about his selection. "There are so many good players in New England. At first I didn't know what the award was for-then it hit me. When I look at the first of former winsers, I feel very fortunate to be thought of along the same lines."

Azelby is the sixth winner from Harvard in the history of the award. The last Crimson player to receive the honor was aplit end and punter Pat Mcleally '75 Mclinally currently punts for the Cincinnati Bengals.

Other pro players who won the award include Greg Landry (UMass), Rich Diana (Yalo), Dul Ross (Northeastern) and Mike Krucaek and Jack Concasnon (Boston College).

Azelby led the 1983 Crimson with 99 tackles.