Crew Claims Darling Cup

The Harvard men's crew team claimed the fourth annual CRASH-B sprints in Cambridge Sunday, outpulling such Ivy League powerhouses as Princeton, Yale and Dartmouth.

As tough as these crew locks are the sprints were not held on the still frozen Charles, but inside MIT's well heated Rockyell Cage.

Former Olympians Andrew Sudduth '85, Kevin Still, and Jeane blanagan were among the 550 competitors representing 42 clubs and colleges from the U.S. and Canada who took turns rowing timed five mile pieces on bicycle-wheel ergometers.

The indoor rowing championships were organized by CRASH-B (Charles River All Star Has-Beens), a Boston-based association of recent and current Olympic and national team oarsmen.

Despite strenuous morning heats, Harvard and Radcliffe rowers returned to the crgy several hours and strokes later, to pull out impressive times in the open and lightweight men's and women's finals.

Harvard rowers dominated the field in the men's open finals Sudduth cranked out a 7:56.3 first place piece, while his Harvard cohorts, sophomores Richard Kemielly and Jamie Hanson turned in strong performances to finish fifth and sixth respectively.

Junior Michael Scott, Harvard's only representative in the final six of the men's lightweights look command of the race to win in 8:16.8.

Radcliffe rowers, facing touch competition in the finals, captured fourth place in both the open and lightweight divisions with solid pieces by Alison Lownley (9:36.3) and Nina Streeter (9:53.0), Novice oarswoman) Jenny Rudolph ground out the race in just over 10 minutes for sixth place.

By day's end, Harvard held the "Darling Cup" for most points earned by a college team.

The organizers handed the "Bonhelt Cup" for the championship to their-own members as CRASH-B finished up a successful day across the board.