"No, Cats, No"

ECAC Tournament Notes

The losing team got the biggest applause.

In the closing minutes of Saturday's Harvard-Vermont ECAC consolation game--a game Harvard won easily, 7-1--UVM fans stood and cheered.

"Go, Cats, Go," they yelled.

"V-E-R-M-O-N-T," they yelled.

Although the University of Vermont is located over four hours away from Boston, UVM had the largest crowd of any of the four schools participating in the ECAC Final Four.

Harvard, only a subway ride away from Boston Garden, had the smallest.

The Crimson crowd remained as witty as ever, however, Late in the game, the Harvard band pulled out one of its classics. Said the band members: "Hey, Vermont, don't worry, all you need is a touchdown."

In the final moments, as beaten but never bowed Vermont fans screamed, "Go, Cats, Go," the Harvard crowd struck back with "No, Cats, No."

ECAC Trivia question: Name Harvard's four winners of the ECAC MVP Award.

St. Lawrence and Clarkson are located only 10 miles away from each other in upstate New York. But this weekend, the Saints and Golden Knights traveled over 400 miles, only to meet each other in the finals.

One can imagine the letters home:

"Dear Grannie:

"We travel over seven hours to Boston and wind up playing Clarkson. Couldn't they have just let us stay home?

"Havin' fun. Love ya, Pete."

"Dear Grannie-poo:

Recommended Articles