Harvard Law School Makes Online Zero-L Course Free for All U.S. Law Schools Due to Coronavirus


For Kennedy School Fellows, Epstein-Linked Donors Present a Moral Dilemma


Tenants Grapple with High Rents and Local Turnover at Asana-Owned Properties


In April, Theft Surged as Cambridge Residents Stayed at Home


The History of Harvard's Commencement, Explained

Rules Governing the Election of Class Day Officers.


1. The meeting will be held this evening at seven o'clock in Upper Massachusetts.

2. The committee have chosen E. V. Frothingham chairman, and B. Frothingham clerk of the meeting.

3. Only members of the class past and present who are candidates for the degree of A. B., S. B., or C. E. in 1896 and who are likely to be recommended by the Faculty shall be alowed to vote and shall be eligible to office.

4. Each office shall be voted for separately. All nominations shall be made viva voce and shall be recorded on the blackboard by the clerk and no votes cast for persons not so nominated shall be counted. No motion to close the nominations shall be in order until a fair chance has been given to each voter to make his nomination.

5. Speeches for or against candidates are unconditionally prohibited.

6. All voting shall be secret, check lists being used. No ballots will be allowed except those furnished by the committee. The class shall vote in sections, two tellers receiving and counting the votes from each section. Voting by proxy shall not be allowed. Whenever a candidate receives a majority of votes cast on a ballot he shall be declared elected.

7. After the first ballot all but the four candidates receiving the largest number of votes shall be dropped, and the candidates receiving the smallest number of votes at each successive ballot shall be dropped after that ballot. If there are but three candidates, no one of them shall be dropped until after the second ballot.

8. No one except the committee and the tellers shall be allowed around the chairman's desk.

9. The Class officers shall be elected in the following order: Secretary, first marshal, second marshal, third marshal, orator, poet, odist, ivy orator, chorister, class day committee, class committee, photographic committee.

The committee have divided the class into the following sections:

1. Abbot to Bosworth (inclusive).

2. Boucher to Cooper.

3. Cone to Fay.

4. Faxon to Hallowell.

5. Ham to James.

6. Jenkins to McManus.

7. Marlow to Outerbridge.

8. Page to Satterlee.

9. Scott, G. C. to Trybom.

10. Thorndike to Zeller.

The tellers for the sections are:

1. E. W. Ames and F. N. Balch.

2. A. H. Bullock and H. A. Cassebeer.

3. S. P. Delaney and C. Dickinson.

4. R. K. Fox and A. H. Gould.

5. A. B. Holmes and A. S. Ingalls.

6. L. W. Jenkins and A. M. Kales.

7. R. G. Morse and V. Monroe.

8. G. L. Paine and W. E. Putnam.

9. A. R. Sherriff and W. S. Soule.

10. A. C. Train and R. G. Wadsworth.

The above tellers will please report in Upper Massachusetts at 6.30 sharp.

Only those who are eligible to vote will be allowed in the hall.

During the voting every man must remain seated in his section.

Particular attention is called to the rule forbidding any but the committee and tellers to gather around the chairman's desk. Conformation to all the regulations is earnestly requested.


Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.