The New Gen Ed Lottery System, Explained


Armed Individuals Sighted in Harvard Square Arraigned


Harvard Students Form Coalition Supporting Slave Photo Lawsuit's Demands


Police Apprehend Armed Man and Woman in Central Square


107 Faculty Called for Review of Tenure Procedures in Letter to Dean Gay


Competitors to the Number of 114 Will Enter Tournament.


The singles matches in the fall tournament for the University tennis championship will begin on Jarvis and Soldiers Fields this afternoon. The entry of 114 is a decrease of 37 from last year. The championship court will be reserved for the matches which promise to be the best in each round, and notice will be given in the CRIMSON as to who shall occupy this court.

Courts will be reserved and no charge will be made for their use. Balls, however, must be furnished by the contestants. The matches will be for the best two out of three sets, except in the semifinal and final rounds, in which the matches will be for the best three out of five. Matches must be played on the day scheduled or else defaulted, except in case of rain, when they will be played on the day following. Contestants may claim default if their opponents fall to appear within one-half hour of the schedules time. Score cards have been placed in the CRIMSON Office, and the results of matches must be recorded by the winners each day. In case the result of any match is not posted by 7 o'clock in the evening of the day of the match, both contestants will be disqualified. The pairings, together with the times and places for the matches, are given below.

The following matches will be played on Soldiers Field at 2:

Preliminary round.--W. Smith '14 vs. A. H. Sanborn '14, H. F. Isham '12 vs. G. M. Carnochan '14, T. J. D. Fuller '15 vs. P. L. Cable '14, B. Smith '13 vs. H. C. Place '14, C. Harrop, Jr., '14 vs. A. Baltzly '12.

The following matches will be played on Jarvis Field at 2: O. H. Moore 5G. vs K. Dean '12, R. M. Marble '12 vs. J. M. Sands '13, H. C. Greene '14 vs. C. E. Miller '14, P. H. Wellman '13 vs. J. D. Adams '13, W. Franzen '14 vs. J. F. Brown '14.

The following matches will be played at Soldiers Field at 4: H. W. Frost '14 vs. F. R. Meade '12, A. D. Johnson '13 vs. H. L. Clark, N. Golden 1G. vs. O. Williams '14 C. S. Hadley 3L. vs. W. A Barron '14, E. Wiswall '14 vs. F. Fort 3G., J. A. Locke 3L. vs. C. W. Plummer '14.

The following matches will be played at Jarvis Field at 4: A. D. Maag '13 vs. R. V. White 3L., G. P. Gardner 1B. vs. M. Hiller '14, H. T. Deane '12 vs. S. H. Bowles 1G., L. I. Grinnell '12 vs. H. W. Josephs '14, S. O. Shotter '14 vs. M. C. Lightner 3L., H. S. McKee '13 vs. R. W. Stevenson '14, R. M. Gardiner 2L. vs. E. S. Harrington '13, H. G. Smith '13 vs. S. S. Otis '14, E. H. Whitney '14 vs. T. Buel '13, J. H. Pettus '12 vs. S. Minot '13, H. M. Anthony Uc. vs. C. Wadsworth 2G., R. Tunis '13 vs. E. H. Woods '14, R. E. Callanan '13 vs. P. Roberts 1L., A. J. Lowrey '13 vs. C. H. Weston '14, W. B. Harris '13 vs. N. F. Davis 3L., H. H. Williams '13 vs. K. C. Parker '14, G. Sturgis '13 vs. S. P. Hall 2L., J. B. Cummings '13 vs. F. A. Keep '15, R. A. Newman vs F. P. Abbot 1G., S. P. Speer '13 vs. F. C. Bryant '14, O. W. Mosher 2L. vs. R. H. Kettel '14, J. W. Davis '13 vs. W. C. Codman '12, L. Wade '14 vs. C. J. North '14, R. E. McQuestin '12 vs. E. W. Brewer '14, E. G. Mears 2G. vs. A. H. Tomes '13, C. Judson '14 vs. C. S. Cutting '12, H. H. Bundy 1L. vs. G. D. Howie 1L., J. C. Devereux '14 vs. J. Davis '15, A. W. Rolfe '12 vs. J. P. Gifford '14, E. T. Dana 3G. vs. G. W. Miller '12, A. Walter '14 vs. Q. A. S. McKean '13 J. C. Povin 3L. vs. F. T. Nelson 2L., G. N. Richard '14 vs. W. S. Howe '13, G. B. Karpe '14 vs. P. Gifford '12.

Entries for the University championship in doubles close tomorrow at 6 o'clock. Entries may be made by Seniors, Juniors, and Sophomores at Leavitt & Peirce's, by Freshmen at the Rendezvous

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.