Annual Report Finds Harvard Kennedy School Faculty Remains Largely White, Male


Harvard Square Celebrates Oktoberfest


Harvard Corporation Members Donated Big to Democrats in 2020 Elections


City Council Candidates Propose Strategies for Supporting Low-Income Residents at Virtual Forum


FAS Dean Gay Hopes to Update Affiliates on Ethnic Studies Search by Semester’s End


William Phillips '00, made Secretary to Library Council.--E. D. Brandegee '81 Becomes Regent.


At the last meeting of the Corporation in June a number of important appointments were made. William Phillips '00, who last year filled the lately resumed office of Regent was made Secretary to the Library Council. To this Council the following members were appointed: Professor Archibald Cary Coolidge '87, chairman; George Foot Moore, Benjamin Osgood Peirce '76, George Lyman Kittredge '82, Charles Homer Haskins, Chester Noyes Greenough '98, and Thomas Barbour '06. In Mr. Phillip's place Edward Deshon Brandegee '81, was made regent. It was also voted to reappoint George Peabody Gardner, Jr., '10, as Secretary to the Corporation. All these appointments took effect on September 1.

Other appointments were made as follows:

Assistants. Edward J. Whitaker, Winthrop Perrin Haynes, and Edward Wigglesworth, Geology; Eugene Lyman Porter, Physiology; James Buell Munn, Fine Arts; Lucius Moody Bristol, Social Ethics; Charles Albert Joerger, Mechanical Engineering; Fred Charles Langenberg, Metallurgy and Metallography; Elbert Peets, Landscape Architecture; Gracie Hall Roosevelt, Electrical Engineering.

Austin Teaching Fellow. Ralf S. Cochran, Mining and Metallurgy.

Research Fellows. John Stanley Ames, and Edmund Ware Sinnott, Biology; John Charles Phillips, Applied Biology.

Instructors. Sheldon Smith Yates, Civil Engineering; Chester Laurens Dawes, Emory Leon Chaffee, and Harold Gilliland Crane, Electrical Engineering; John Wymond Miller Bunker, Sanitary Analysis; Melville Conley Whipple, Sanitary Chemistry; Horace Upham Ranson, Civil Engineering; Edward Russell Markham, Shopwork; Walter Scott Weeks, Mining; Harold Broadfield Warren, Freehand Drawing; Hermann Dudley Murphy; Drawing from the Life; Henry Atherton Frost, Architecture; Roger Noble Burnham, Modelling; David Locke Webster, Applied Mechanics; Charles Obstetrics; Robert Montraville Green,eering.

Demonstrators. Brackett Kirkwood Thorogood and George Falley Ninde, Engineering Drawing.

Lecturers. Gelasio Caetani, Ore Dressing; Robert Van Arsdale Norris, Coal Mining; Frederick Erskine Olmsted, Forestry; James Ralph Finlay, Economics of Mining; Dorsey Alfred Lyon, Electro-Metallurgy; Thomas Arthur Rickard, Mining Geology; Charles Adams Platt and James Knox Taylor, Architectural Design; James Flack Norris, on Organic Chemistry.

Medical School Assistants. James Rockwell Torbert, Obstetrics; Nathaniel Robert Mason, Obstetrics and Gynaecology; Henry Talbot Hutchins, Gynaecology; Robert Laurent DeNormandie, Obstetrics; Robert Montraville Green, Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

Alumni Assistant. Ralph Leavitte Reynolds, Obstetrics.

Fellow, Richard Goodwin Wadsworth, Gynaecology.

Instructors. Malcolm Storer, and Ernest Boyen Young, in Gynaecology; Howard Townsend Swain, in Obstetrics.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.