The Path to Public Service at SEAS


Should Supreme Court Justices Have Term Limits? That ‘Would Be Fine,’ Breyer Says at Harvard IOP Forum


Harvard Right to Life Hosts Anti-Abortion Event With Students For Life President


Harvard Researchers Debunk Popular Sleep Myths in New Study


Journalists Discuss Trump’s Effect on the GOP at Harvard IOP Forum


First Marshal of Senior Class Will Introduce Speakers--Professors Murray, Magruder and Maynard Are Judges


Tonight at 8 o'clock in Sanders Theatre the speaking for the Lee Wade and Boylston Prizes will take place. As a result of preliminary trials, nine men have been chosen to compete for the awards, and each one of these will be given six minutes in which to give his oration. George Owen Jr. '23, First Marshal of the Senior class, will introduce the speakers and preside at the meeting, which is open to the public free of charge.

The Boylston Prizes were founded in 1817 by Ward Nicholas Boylston in honor of his uncle, Nicholas Boylston, who established the Boylston Professorship of Rhetoric and Oratory, which is now held by Dean Briggs. These prizes have been awarded continuously for 106 years, and are one of the oldest institutions in the University. In 1915, the Lee Wade Prize was established by Dr. Francis Henry Wade, in memory of his son, Lee Wade II '14, who while in college was especially interested in speaking and took part in the contests for the Boylston Prizes.

The Lee Wade Prize, which is for $50, and the two Boylston Prizes, which are for $35 and $25, respectively, are awarded to the three men who present their oration with the greatest force and effectiveness, the decision being rendered by three judges, selected by the Boylston Professor. The men who will serve in this capacity tonight are Professor John Tucker Murray '99, assistant professor of English and director of the Summer School; Professor Calvert Magruder, Law '16, of the Law School; and Professor M. C. Maynard, of Tufts College.

The order of the speakers for this evening was determined by lot and is as follows:

1. Eli Allen Smith '25--Eulogy on Abraham Lincoln" by Henry Watterson.

2. Norman Saul Rabinovitz '25--"Whisperin' Bill" by Irving Bacheller.

3. Oviatt McConnell '23--"Gungha Din" by Rudyard Kipling.

4. Wolcott Colt Treat '23--Roberts's Speech to the Strikers from "Strife" by John Galsworthy.

5. Arista Edward Fisher '24--"The Western Islands" by John Masefield.

(Intermission of five minutes.)

6. Norman Edwin Himes '23--"Faith in the People" by John Bright.

7. John Carroll Shoe '23--"The Highwayman" by Alfred Noyes.

8. Richard Arthur Zinn '24--"Hymn Before Action" by Rudyard Kipling.

9. Paul Whitcomb Williams '25--"The First Settlement of New England" by Daniel Webster

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.