Amid Boston Overdose Crisis, a Pair of Harvard Students Are Bringing Narcan to the Red Line


At First Cambridge City Council Election Forum, Candidates Clash Over Building Emissions


Harvard’s Updated Sustainability Plan Garners Optimistic Responses from Student Climate Activists


‘Sunroof’ Singer Nicky Youre Lights Up Harvard Yard at Crimson Jam


‘The Architect of the Whole Plan’: Harvard Law Graduate Ken Chesebro’s Path to Jan. 6


Interest the Undergraduate in Current World Affairs, Advises Editorial Committee


The final session of the Intercollegiate Newspaper Association was held last Saturday in the Crimson Sanctum, at which the various committees made their reports and several measures of vital importance to college papers were passed. After adjournment, the delegates were the guests of the Signet Society at a luncheon given in honor of the Convention. J. M. Begg '24, Secretary of the club, extended the hospitality of the society to the association for the rest of its stay.

The most important questions brought before the Convention were submitted by the Business Committee. The Collegiate Special Advertising Agency made a plea for a fixed standard of solicitation, whereas the representative of Roy Barn-hill Incorporated sought exclusive representation. The Convention finally decided that competition between the two companies is stimulating to college advertising, and therefore passed a resolution, the tenor of which forbids the solicitation of accounts by one agency which are already carried through the other in order to encourage the agencies to obtain new accounts which have not yet come within their scope.

Eject Special Committee

The only other important action in this phase of the Convention was the formation of a Standing Committee on Advertising of the Intercollegiate News-paper Association. "The duty of this committee is to collect such information as it deems necessary in order to place before the American Association of Advertising Agencies and national advertisers a complete and comprehensive review of the college field and the market which it covers".

The members of this body for the coming year are: H. N. Pratt '24 of the Harvard CRIMSON, chairman; W. B. Fairfax of the Yale News, sub-chairman; J. W. Jones of the Pennsylvanian; M. H. Olin of the Williams Record; William Buettner of the Dartmouth.

The Editorial Committee emphasized particularly the need of stimulating an interest in national and world-wide questions among the undergraduates. It also stressed the possibilities of the college paper as an intermediary between the faculty and undergraduates. Among the less important recommendations submitted in their report were the encouraging of interest in other colleges, the benefits of a healthy communication column, and the necessity for a freer discussion of abstract questions in editorials.

On the suggestion of the committee on the constitution, several amendments were made. It provided for the forfeiture of membership in the Association for failure to comply with its regulations, gave the Secretary-Treasurer the added duty of sending minutes to all members of the Association, and changed the dues from five to ten dollars. The membership of the Convention was narrowed down from 25 to 20 colleges.

The report of the Committee on Syndicated and Signed Articles was rejected on the ground that its recommendations were impractical. The opinion of the Convention, however, held that special articles appearing in member papers could be used by other members of the Association after telegraphing for permission.

The conference ended with the election of officers for the coming year, which are as follows: President, H. E. Allen of the Yale News; Vice-President, Sparta Fritz of the Pennsylvanian; Secretary-Treasurer, W. B. Fairfax of the Yale News.

The next Convention, which will be held in the spring of 1924, will convene in New Haven under the auspices of the Yale News.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.