Graduate School Awards 14 Travelling Fellowships to Provide for One Year's Study and Travel in Europe

The award of one hundred and thirty-two fellowships and scholarships by the Harvard Corporation, carrying stipends totalling nearly sixty thousand dollars, was announced yesterday at the University. The winners include representatives of 31 states and three foreign countries.

The great majority of these fellowships and scholarships have been granted to enable their holders to carry on a year's advanced study under the auspices of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. Most of the winners are already studying at the University; but 43 of them are at present teachers or students in 33 other colleges and universities.

Fourteen of the Graduate School awards consist of travelling fellowships, to provide for a year of study and travel in Europe, as follows:

Sachs Research Fellowship in fine arts to Donald M. Oenslager '23, of Harrisburg, Pa., who has designed the scenery for recent productions of the Harvard Dramatic Club; John Knowles Paine Fellowships in music to Elmer L. Olsson 1G., of Topeka, Kan., who graduated from the University of Kansas in 1921, and to Arthur H. Starbird '23, of Somerville; Bayard Cutting Fellowship to Charles H. Taylor 2G., of Maplewood, N. J., Austin Teaching Fellow at Harvard, whose subject is government and history: Pratt Fellowship in fine arts to Joseph S. Jabionski '23, and 1G., of Rochester, N. Y., and Rogers Fellowships to Harold A. Larrabee 2G., of Melrose, assistant in philosophy at the University, and to Norman L. Torrey 4G., of Jaffrey, N. H., instructor in French at the University.

Also Parker Fellowships for travel and study to Erik Achorn 4G., of Jamaica Plain, who will hold his fellowship for the second year to study history; Marvin Farber 1G., of Buffalo, N. Y., now the holder of a Sheldon Fellowship for the study of philosophy; Carl A. Garabedian 4G., of Cambridge, whose subject is mathematics; and Garrett Mattingly '23, of Allegan, Mich., who holds this year a Sheldon Prize Fellowship for the study of history.


John Harvard Fellowships Awarded

Also John Harvard Fellowships, without stipend, to James A. Maxwell 2G., of Westville, Nova Scotia, who will study economics; and Leonard Opdycke '17, of New York, tutor in fine arts at the University, who will hold his fellowship for the first half year. Also the Charles Eliot--Norton Fellowship, for study at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens, to Prentice van W. Duell, of Buenos Aires, Argentina, who graduated from the University of California in 1916 and is now a first-year student at the Harvard School of Architecture.

The rest of the Graduate School fellowships and scholarships are awarded for resident study at the University next year. The list follows:

Philip H. Sears Scholarship to Francis R. Iredell 2G., of Long Beach, Cal. (philosophy).

Du Pont Fellowship to Lawrence P. Hall 3G., of Montclair, N. J., instructor in chemistry at Harvard (chemistry).

Robert Treat Paine Fellowship to Norman E. Himes '24, of Portland, Conn. (social ethics).

William Watson Goodwin Fellowship to Warren E. Blake 3G., of Newton (classics).

John Tyndall Scholarship to Stuart Ballantine of Glenside, Pa. (physics).

Henry Lee Memorial Fellowship to Edward H. Chamberlain 1G., of Iowa City, Ia. (economics).

Henry Bromfield Rogers Memorial Fellowship to Reuel L. Olson, graduate law student, of Los Angeles (social ethics and psychology).