Graduate School Awards 14 Travelling Fellowships to Provide for One Year's Study and Travel in Europe

Thayer Scholarships to Frederic R. Butler 1G., of Worcester (chemistry); Harold H. Chen 1G., of Tsingyanghsien, China (geology); Haskell B. Curry 1G., of Boston (physics); Bernard F. Haley of St. John, N. B. (economics); and Samuel Rezneck of Chelsea (history).

James Savage Scholarship to Ralph C. Epstein of Evanston, III. (economics).

Whiting Fellowships to David Bourgin 1G., of New York (physics); William J. Cahill 2G., of Hartford, Conn. (physics); and Ralph A. Loring 1G., of Hingham (physics).

Townsend Scholarships to Louis M. Hacker of Brooklyn, N. Y. (history); Leland R. Smith 1G., of Willoughby, Ohio (English); Arthur C. Sprague 2G., of York Village, Maine (English), Charles W. Ufford of New York City (mathematics); and Mark W. Wells 1G., of Roxbury (chemistry).

George and Martha Derby Scholarship to Thomas D. Cairns '23, of Chelsea (philosophy).


Austin Scholarships to Lester M. Beattle of Northfield, Minn. (English); Howard F. Bigelow of Kalamazoo, Mich. (economics); Arthur R. Davis of Middlebury, Vt. (chemistry); Jose M. Hernandez of Norman, Okia, (Romance languages); Arthur R. Knipp 1G., of Baltimore (physics); Robert R. La Follette of Terra Haute, Ind. (history); William T. MacCreadie of Northfield, Vt. (mathematics); Charles M. McCurry of Georgetown, Ky. (English); Howard B. Poole of Boulder, Colo (Romance languages); and Ernest E. Stanford of Cleveland, Ohio (botany).

George W. Dillaway Fellowship to Paul R. Harmel '23, of Cleveland (history).

Gorham Thomas Scholarship to Henry Federighi of New Brunskick, N. J. (zoology).

Many Win University Scholarships

University Scholarships to William J. Calvert Jr., of Portsmouth, Va. (English); Charles W. Edwards of Enterprise, Ala. (history); Lewis R. Frazier 1G., of Pocatello, Idaho (psychology); Julian L. Holley 2G., of Bristol, Conn. (mathematics); Harold O. Holte 1G., of Crookston, Minn, (physics); Leslie W. Jones 1G., of Schenectady, N. Y. (classics); Robert E. Lutz 2G., of Sanford, Maine (chemistry); Ralph E. Marshall of Wolfeville, N. S. (history); Raoul M. May 1G., of San Francisco (zoology); George W. Morris of Cincinnati, Ohio (geology); Charles M. S. Niver 1G., of Baltimore (fine arts); Kosaburo Shimizu 1G., of Vaucouver, B. C. (social ethics); Abraham G. Silverman of Stanford University, Calif. (economics); Daniel P. Varnum 1G., of Strathroy, Ont. (philosophy); and Irving H. White 1G., of Richmond, Va. (English).

Also University Scholarships to Charles B. P. Aiken of New Orleans, La. (physics); Walter R. Batsell of Columbia, Mo., (history and government); Armand T. Beauregard Jr., of Darien, Conn. (economics); Lawrence R. Blinks of Kalamazoo, Mich. (botany); George R. Burns of Helena, Mont. (English); Edwin R. Clapp of Stanford University, Calif. (English); Harry H. Clark of Waterbury, Conn. (English); Edward E. Euler of Mt. Vernon, N. Y. (German); Roger C. Hackett of Bloomington, Ind. (history); George E. Harris of Greenville, N. C. (English); Huntington Hill of Huntington, N. Y. (history); Luther W. Hussey of Northbridge Centre (mathematics); Henry H. Jacobs of Carnarvon Iowa (chemistry); Clyde E. Kesler of Granville, Ohio (Zoology); John L. La Monte of Columbus, Ohio (history); Richard D. Leonard of Newtonville (history); Bernard Lewis of New York City (chemistry); Rising Morrow of Middletown, Conn. (history); Harold D. Parceil of Tampa, Fia, (Romance languages); Julian L., Ross of Meadville, Pa. (psychology); Wayland. F. Vaughan of Newton Centre (philosophy); Steward H. Webster of Los Angeles (chemistry); Donald C. Williams of Long Beach, Calif. (philosophy); Abraham P. Woolfson of Toronto, Ont. (economics); Fred R. Chambers of Princeton, Ind. (history); Eiden Le C. Colby of Oakland, Calif. (government); and Milton V. Smith of Claremont, Calif. (government).

Medical School Awards Nine

Nine men have been awarded John Harvard Fellowships in the Medical School on the basis of outstanding scholarship in their work up to this year. The winners include the four leading scholars of the fourth-year class, William L. McClure of Lawton, Okia., Walter S. McClelian of Hamilton, N. Y., Wyman Richardson of Boston, and Harold van der E. Williams of Reading; the four leading scholars of the third-year class, Fred W. Stewart of Ithaca, N. Y., McKeen Cattell of Garrison-on-Hudson, N. Y., Paul A. Chandler of Hastings, Neb., and G. C. Prather of Anderson, Ind.; and the leading scholar of the second-year class, Edward L. Pierson Jr., of Salem.

The John White Browne Scholarship in the Medical School has been awarded for next year to Dr. William G. Walker of Ricevilie, Iowa; and William O. Moseley Traveling Fellowships in the Medical School to Dr. D. J. MacPherson of Boston, assistant in neuropathology, and Dr. Francis G. Newton of Boston, assistant in surgery