Erica Chenoweth and Zoe Marks Named Pfoho Faculty Deans


Harvard SEAS Faculty Reflect on Outgoing Dean, Say Successor Should Be Top Scholar


South Korean President Yoon Talks Nuclear Threats From North Korea at Harvard IOP Forum


Harvard University Police Advisory Board Appoints Undergrad Rep After Yearlong Vacancy


After Meeting with Harvard Admin on ‘Swatting’ Attack, Black Student Leaders Say Demands Remain Unanswered

Daley, Coady, and Burke Head Newly Elected 1927 Officers

Chapman, Gates, Stackpole, Keeley, and Flood Will Fill Other Positions


Leo Francis Daley of Andover was elected First Marshal of the Senior class yesterday by a large majority. Clement Duane Coady of West Newton, and John Randolph Burke, of Milton, were chosen Second and Third Marshals respectively. The other officers elected on the first 1927 ballot were Frederick Vanderbilt Field, of New York City Treasurer, Dwight Westley Chapman Jr., of Wilmette, Illinois, Orator; Geoffrey McNair Gates, of Elyria, Ohio, Ivy Orator; Pierpont Stackpole, of Milton, Poet; Ambrose Francis Keeley, of Fall River, Odist; Richard Thomas Flood, of Brookline, Chorister.

Daley was captain of his Freshman football team and has played on the University eleven for the past three years. Prevented each year from playing in the letter games due to Illness, he was nevertheless awarded his gridiron letter this season. He is President of the Student Council. Daley's vote of 350 was not only the greatest total vote, but also the greatest majority for First Marshal. Coady received 287 votes for the Second Marshal's position. He is Captain of the football team, a letter man in hockey and baseball, and a member of the Student Council. J. R. Burke, manager of the football team, Vice--President of the Student Council and President of the Minor Sports Committee, came next with 226 votes. Following is a list of the other nominees and the votes they received: E. C. Haggerty, 197; J. D. Hitch, 172; B. L. Kilgour Jr., 130; W. P. Ellison, 116.

For treasurer, Field, former President of the CRIMSON, Chairman of the Budget Committee, Treasurer of the Student Council, and Vice-President of the Phillips Brooks House Committee, led his only competitor by a 150 vote margin.

Closest Contest for Poet

The closest contest of the whole election was for the position of poet, which Stackpole got over Kazanjian by only 30 votes.

The total number of ballots cast, 519 was much larger than last year. The vote represents a large majority of the 700 students in the class of 1927. Only five ballots were thrown out, as compared with 51 in last year's elections.

The Nominating Committee will assemble again and choose candidates for Secretary, Class Committee. Class Day Committee, and Album Committee. The list of nominees will be announced Saturday morning, and all further nominations must be made by petitions signed by twenty-five names, and handed in at the Crimson Building between the hours of 6.45 and 7.45 o'clock on Saturday and Sunday evenings. Resignations must also be signified at those times. No petitions or withdrawals will be accepted after 7.45 o'clock Sunday evening. The elections will be held next Wednesday.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.