First Five Men Chosen To Form Nucleus For Society of Fellows

All Graduated With "Summas" In Recent Years--Three Year Term For Appointees

President Lowell announced last night the first five appointees to the new Society of Fellows. The initial group of men will form the nucleus of the "Junior Fellows" and assume their fellowships next fall. Those designated by the Corporation: Garrett Birkhoff '32 of Cambridge, John Chester Miller '30 of Tacoma, Washington, Willard Van Orman Quine, Oberlin '30, of Akron, Ohio, Burrhus Frederic Skinner, Hamilton '26, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, and Frederick Mundell Watkins '30, of Providence, Rhode Island. The three men from Harvard were graduated summa cum laude.

Further appointments will be made next year, and the plan ultimately calls for a group not exceeding 24 men, who will be selected "for their promise of notable contribution to knowledge and thought." The Junior Fellows will be appointed for a three-year term, and will receive free board and rooms in the various Houses, and a yearly stipend of $1250, as well as free use of all the facilities of the University.

Senior Fellows Nominators

The nomination of the five Junior Fellows was made by the Senior Fellows, or governing body, of the new Society. This group includes the President of the University and the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, as members ex-officio, and the following: A. N. Whitehead, Professor of Philosophy; J. L. Lowes, Francis Lee Higginson Professor of English Literature; L. J. Henderson '98, Professor of Biological Chemistry; and C. P. Curtis, Jr. '83, a member of the Corporation.