The Path to Public Service at SEAS


Should Supreme Court Justices Have Term Limits? That ‘Would Be Fine,’ Breyer Says at Harvard IOP Forum


Harvard Right to Life Hosts Anti-Abortion Event With Students For Life President


Harvard Researchers Debunk Popular Sleep Myths in New Study


Journalists Discuss Trump’s Effect on the GOP at Harvard IOP Forum


$8,175 in Scholarships Is Given to 39 Freshman, One Sophomore, and One Junior


Award of $8,175 in scholarships to thirty-nine freshmen, one sophomore, and one junior in Harvard College, was announced today.

Twenty-one of the freshmen are from Massachusetts, as follows:

Frederic S. Armstrong Jr., of Weymouth; Joseph J. Buckley, of Somorville; Irving M. London, of Malden; James P. O'Connell, of Molrose; Sumner A. Pondleton, of Somerville; Sidney D. Ross, of Lynn; Lawrence F. Ebb, of Dorchester; Roger C. Lyndon, of Hingham; Albert Cohen, of Roxbury; Hamilton Q. Dearborn, of Springfield; Leonidas H. Demeter of Boston; Louis J. Dunham, Jr., of Dorchester; Elisha R. Greenhood, Jr., of Wellesley Hills; Charles A. Hill, of Worcester; Joseph Levine, of Dorchester; Philip Levine, of Dorchester; Sotirios Papafrangos, of Springfield; Edward T. Powers, of Boston; Leon N. Satenstein, of Malden; Maurice Steinberg, of Whitman; and Harold R. Taylor, of Somerville.

The freshmen from outside Massachusetts are:

Jack D. Andrews, of La Crosse, Wisconsin; Alan S. Evans, of Ridley Park, Pennsylvania; William R. Eyler, of Toledo, Ohio; Richard B. Finn, of Niagara Falls, New York; Ralph T. Fuller, of Hudson Ohio; Frederick W. Heckel, 3d., of Wrightsville, Pennsylvania; Lawrence M. Levinson, of Chattanooga, Tennessee; Allen E. Puckett, of Chicago Heights, Illinois; Joseph S. Harvin, of Fort Worth, Texas; Walter J. Bate, of Richmond, Indiana; Richard R. Beatty, Jr., of Kansas City, Missouri, Clayton J. Clawson, of Madera, California; Edger L. Haff, Jr., of Fort Edward, New York; Martin Lichterman, of Brooklyn, New York; William W. Minton, of Middletrow, Ohio; Walter P. Neumann, of New Britain, Connecticut; John Nevins, of New York City; and Harold L. Pinansky, of Portland, Maine.

The two other recipients are:

James G. Miller '37, of Lakewood, Ohio; and Joseph C. Stephens, Jr. '38, of Dallas, Texas.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.