Davis Is Secretary; Keppel, Griswold Hutter, Barnes, Brooks, Weinberger On '38 Permanent Class Committee

Lowman, Harkness, Knowlton, Nee, Winter, Pope Also Win; Davis Wins Easily

In the second set of elections yesterday and Tuesday, 547 Seniors cast ballots to select Richard T. Davis as Secretary, six men to the Permanent Class Committee and seven to the Class Day Committee.

Heading the slate in the Permanent Class Committee election was Francis Keppel with 337 votes, followed by Charles G. Hutter Jr., With 293, Edward L. Barnes with 262, Peter T. Brooks with 231, Caspar W. Weinberger with 229 and H. Bruce Griswold with 210.

Elected to the Class Day Committee were: Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. 395; George F. Lowman 287; John C. Harkness 260; Joseph F. Nee 254; Gibson Winter 252; Ralph L. Pope Jr. 214; and Elliott B. Knowlton 207.

Following Davis, who was elected Secretary by a comfortable margin, came Alexander C. Northrop, track Captain, Robert Sullivan, and S. Trafford Hicks, Jr., hockey captain, in that order. Davis lives in Medford, was on the Junior eight of Phi Beta Kappa.

Of those elected to the Permanent Class Committee, Keppel is President of the Student Council, Secretary of Phillips Brooks House and Chairman of the Eliot House Committee. Hutter is captain of Harvard's first major swimming team. Barnes is chairman of the Leverett House Committee and President of the Glee Club. Brooks is on the Jayvee crew and the Ski team.


Weinberger was Managing Editor and President of the CRIMSON, treasurer of the Student Council and a member of the Dunster House Committee. Griswold is a business editor of the CRIMSON and on the Lowell House Committee. Tabulation of Voting for 14 Offices SECRETARY *Davis  144 Northrop  117 Sullivan  62 Hicks  56 Murphy  52 Emerson  51 Ewell  39 PERMANENT CLASS COMMITTEE *Keppel  337 *Hutter  293 *Barnes  262 *Brooks  231 *Weinberger  229 *Griswold  210 Stuart  200 Clothier  188 Damon  169 Sutro  135 Sulloway  128 Ulin  116 Nesmith  115 Daughaday  111 Binger  94 Easton  91 Massik  68 Lourie  63 CLASS DAY COMMITTEE *Kennedy  395 *Lowman  287 *Harkness  260 *Neo  254 *Winter  252 *Pope  214 *Knowlton  207 Munroe  180 Whitman  173 Haseltine  165 Schwartz  135 Cabitor  127 Clark  118 Chace  117 Osgood  110 Marcus  106 Reardon  97 Lit  77 Herby  61 *elected