Erica Chenoweth and Zoe Marks Named Pfoho Faculty Deans


Harvard SEAS Faculty Reflect on Outgoing Dean, Say Successor Should Be Top Scholar


South Korean President Yoon Talks Nuclear Threats From North Korea at Harvard IOP Forum


Harvard University Police Advisory Board Appoints Undergrad Rep After Yearlong Vacancy


After Meeting with Harvard Admin on ‘Swatting’ Attack, Black Student Leaders Say Demands Remain Unanswered

Amory, Bolton, Boston, Bunker, Freed Chosen for 1939 Council

Retiring Officers' Reports and Election of New Officers to Take Place Then


Five Juniors and three Sophomores were chosen to fill out the 1938-39 Student Council by those already elected, it was announced last night. The men chosen are Cleveland Amory '39, Oliver P. Bolton '39, Clarence E. Boston '39, Robert M. Bunker '39, Morton G. Freed '39, Theodore L. Hazlett, Jr. '40, James D. Lightbody, Jr. '40, and Phil C. Neal '40.

Amory is president of the CRIMSON and finished seventh in the Junior election, Bolton is football manager and chairman of the Adams House Committee and finished tied for ninth, Boston is a football letterman and finished eighth, Bunker is Album chairman and finished eleventh, and Freed is a member of the Dudley House Committee.

Among the Sophomores Hazlett is a member of the Kirkland House Committee, Lightbody is on the track team and was class president in his freshman year, and Neal is vice-president of the Debating Council and a member of the Dunster House Committee. Hazlett was fifteenth in the 1940 election, Lightbody was fourth, and Neal eighth.

The complete 1938-39 Student Council consists of: JUNIORS--F. Austin Harding, Richard H. Sullivan, Robert L. Green, Charles L. Burwell, James Tobin, J. Spence Harvin, and Amory, Bolton, Boston, Bunker, and Freed; SOPHOMORES--Douglas Mercer, Mason Fernald, Frederick Holdsworth, and Hazlett, Lightbody, and Neal.

This group will meet next Wednesday to elect officers and hear the reports of retiring officers, Francis Keppel '38, president; Caspar W. Weinberger '38, treasurer; and Wiley E. Mayne '38, secretary.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.