Amid Boston Overdose Crisis, a Pair of Harvard Students Are Bringing Narcan to the Red Line


At First Cambridge City Council Election Forum, Candidates Clash Over Building Emissions


Harvard’s Updated Sustainability Plan Garners Optimistic Responses from Student Climate Activists


‘Sunroof’ Singer Nicky Youre Lights Up Harvard Yard at Crimson Jam


‘The Architect of the Whole Plan’: Harvard Law Graduate Ken Chesebro’s Path to Jan. 6

Elliott Perkins Named Lowell House Head

Follows Julian Coolidge as Second House Master; Celtic Department Founded


Elliott Perkins '23, instructor and tutor in History and Literature, has been appointed to succeed Julian L. Coolidge '95 as Master of Lowell House next year, the University announced yesterday.

Also made public was the establishment of a department of Celtic by the terms of anonymous gift presented to the University at the anniversary dinner of the Irish, Charitable Society last month. Head of the department will be Kenneth H. Jackson, visiting lecturer on Celtic from Cambridge since last September.

Three appointments and 13 promotions were announced at the same time, including the appointment of Theodore Spencer, visiting lecturer in English from Cambridge and former assistant professor of English, to the post of associate professor of English, and the promotion of Benjamin F. Wright, Jr. to associate professor of Government.

Perkins, who has been associated with Lowell House since 1934 as head tutor and non-resident tutor, will be only the second man to hold the position of House Master. Coolidge, professor of Mathematics and chairman of the board of tutors of the department of Mathematics, has been head of Lowell since the opening of the House in 1930.

After taking his A.M. degree in 1928, Perkins became a non-resident tutor in Lowell in 1930 and then left to study abroad. He returned in 1934 and took his Ph.D. in History in 1936. He will hold the position of lecturer in History.

Other Appointments

Other appointments announced were those of Charles E. Merriam, chairman of the department of Political Sciences at the University of Chicago, as visiting lecturer on Government for the second half of the 1940-41 academic year, and of Emory L. Chaffee, Gordon McKay Professor of Physics and of Communication Engineering, as director of the Cruft Memorial Laboratory, effective next September.

Promotions effective next September were made public as follows:

Henry A. Frost, professor of Architecture; George Sarton, professor of the History of Science; Paul D. Bartlett, associate professor of Chemistry; Cornelius S. Hurlbut, Jr., associate professor of Mineralogy;

Charles L. Kuhn, associate professor of Fine Arts; Leonard Opdycke, associate professor of Fine Arts; Jakob Rosenberg, associate professor of Fine Arts in the Fogg Art Museum; John D. Wild, associate professor of Philosophy;

Benjamin F. Wright, Jr., associate professor of Government; George C. Homans, Instructor in Sociology; Kenneth P. Kempton, lecturer on English; Frederick R. McCreary, preceptor in English Composition; and George L. Stout, head of the department of Conservation. Fogg Art Museum.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.