Amid Boston Overdose Crisis, a Pair of Harvard Students Are Bringing Narcan to the Red Line


At First Cambridge City Council Election Forum, Candidates Clash Over Building Emissions


Harvard’s Updated Sustainability Plan Garners Optimistic Responses from Student Climate Activists


‘Sunroof’ Singer Nicky Youre Lights Up Harvard Yard at Crimson Jam


‘The Architect of the Whole Plan’: Harvard Law Graduate Ken Chesebro’s Path to Jan. 6


Mather, Coolidge, Ward, New Teachers' Union Officers


Francis O. Matthiessen associate professor of History and Literature, was elected president of the Harvard Teachers Union yesterday to succeed Ernest J. Simmons '25, assistant professor of English, who is not returning to Harvard next year. Matthiessen will serve until May, 1941.

At the same time the Union voted to change its name from the Cambridge Union of University Teachers to the Harvard Teachers Union, and will confine its voting membership to members of the Harvard teaching staff.

Previously approximately 25 of the Union's 185 members were composed of M. I. T. and Tufts teachers. The Tech teachers will now form their own Union, while the handful of Tufts members will continue to be affiliated with the Union, but will have no voting power.

Mather, Coolidge Elected

Other officers elected yesterday were Kirtley F. Mather, professor of Geology and director of the Summer School, vice-president; Albert S. Coolidge '15, lecturer in Chemistry, treasurer; and Paul L. Ward, instructor in History, secretary.

In his inaugural address before the five-year old A. F. of L. affiliate Matthiessen quoted the following passage from the Union constitution: "In affiliating with the organized labor movement we express our desire to contribute to and receive support from this powerful progressive force; to reduce the segregation of teachers from the rest of the workers . . . and increase thereby the sense of common purpose among them; and in particular to cooperate in this field in the advancement of education and resistance to all reaction."

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.