Ames, Matters, Harvey Voted Three Marshals for Class of '43

Juniors Elect Eight To Honored Offices

Adelbert Ames III, Thomas Matters, and Frederick Barton Harvey, Jr. were elected to the first, second, and third Class Marshal's post last night as the two-day balloting session to pick the eight man slate of 1943 officers ended.

Other class officers chosen are: Treasurer, Robert G. Axtell; Orator, John W. Sullivan; Odist, Eric Larrabee; Chorister, George R. Clay; Poet, George W. Goethals II.

Rolling up a total of 243 votes Adelbert Ames III of Eliot House and Hanover, N. H. defeated Matters by a five vote margin. Ames came from Phillips Exeter Academy, and has been on the Eliot House Committee, Student Council, Ski Team and Gliding Club.

Thomas Matters of Lowell House and Great Neck, L. I. prepared at Tome School and last week was elected to head the Student Council. He is on the Lowell House Committee and Varsity Tennis Manager.

F. Barton Harvey, Jr., of Baltimore Md., named third Marshall, trailed Matters by 28 votes with a total of 210. Besides holding down the second sack on the baseball team, Harvey is a member of the Student Council, and Lampoon. He graduated from Hill School.

Football captain-elect, Don Forte was fourth with 191 votes and Don McNichol followed with 156. John Richardson, Jr. and John Morgan finished in sixth and seventh places.

Robert G. Axtell of Lowell House and Evanston, III., as Treasurer, will manage the class funds. Axtell is Vice-President of PBH, a member of the Lowell House Committee, and Treasurer of the German Club.

In the closest contest of the election George R. Clay of Chestnut Hill, Penn. defeated William McNear Rand, Jr. for the Choristers post. Clay is Editorial Chairman of the CRIMSON and heads a division of the Post War Council, Runner-up was William Drucker with 90 votes.

John W. Sullivan of Adams House and Caribou, Maine was swept into the Orator's position with 272 votes, leading his nearest competitor by 123 tallies. Sullivan is a member of the Student Council, Debating Council, and in charge of the Student Council-sponsored Harvard Forum.

Eric Larrabee of Leverett House and Schenectady, N. Y. was chosen to deliver the Class Ode, the comic relief of the graduation exercises. Larrabee is on the Lampoon and writes for the Alumni Bulletin.

Class Poet is George Washington Goethals II of Leverett House and Vineyard Haven, who won out over John L. Handy by 11 votes. Biggest surprise of the election came in the ballotting when George Freeman Andrews, a mythical character proposed by the Nomination Committee, gathered 13 votes. Designed as a test on the class's voting ability, the Committee was satisfied that the majority of the class voted carefully.