Ten Orators Selected for Boylston Speaking Contest

Ten student orators emerged yesterday from a field of nineteen as finalists for the annual Boylston Speaking Contest, scheduled to be held in Paine Hall on March 23.

The preliminary winnowing was supervised by Theodore Spencer '28, Boylston Professor of Rhetoric and Oratory and director of the contest, and Frederick C. Packard, Jr. '20, associate professor of Public Speaking.

Those who passed the preliminary were: Robert K. Bingham '48, George Bluestone '49, Robert M. Cipes '50, Robert L. Fischelis '50, Bryant N. Haliday '49, John L. Hedges '48, Hugh M. Hill '48, Francis S. MacNutt '46, Lucian C. Parlato '50, and Paul I. Sparer '49.

Fischells a Repeater

Fischelis captured a second prize last year with an excerpt from Thomas Wolfe's You Can't Go Home Again, the "Letter to Foxhall Edwards." Bingham was a finalist in the 1947 contest.


Prizes for the election competition this year will include two first awards of $50 each and three seconds of $25 each. The contest will be judged by Lewis Perry, former principal of Phillips Exeter Academy; novelist Walter D. Edmonds '26; and Major General Sherman Miles, "U.S.A. (Ret.). Charles Townsend Copeland '82, Boylston Professor of Rhetoric and Oratory, emeritus, will be an honorary judge.