Class of 1926 Offers Businessmen For Commencement's First Marshal

The First Marshal at this year's commencement will not be a nationally prominent figure, as has been the case at most previous University graduations. Passing over such men as atomic physicist J. Robert Oppenheimer, and author Walter D. Edmonds, the nominating committee of the Class of 1926 has chosen six busimen, active in their own Class' affairs, to be voted on by the other members in an advisory ballot.

Peter E. Pratt '40, secretary of the Alumni Association, announced yesterday that its board of directors will meet on January 6 to make the final decision.

The First Marshal, who leads the procession at Commencement, is traditionally chosen from the reunioning class.

Pratt said that the names of the men on the ballot are: LeBaron R. Barker, Jr, executive director of Doubleday & company; Charles L. Harding, Jr., textiles; Joseph W. Lund, real estate; Robert P. MacFadden, assistant vice-president of the National City Bank of New York; Stanley D. Osborne, chemical manufacturing; and H. Irving Pratt, investments.