Anthropology Dept. Forms Eight Committees in Response to Harassment and Gender Bias Concerns


Harvard Cancels Summer 2021 Study Abroad Programming


UC Showcases Project Shedding Light on How Harvard Uses Student Data


Four Bank Robberies Strike Cambridge in Three Weeks


After a Rocky Year, Harvard Faces an Uncertain Economic Climate in 2021, Hollister Says

Harvard Tops Country With Most Wilsons


Thirty-three Harvard Seniors have won Woodrow Wilson Fellowships, the largest number awarded to any one college California ranked second with 29, and Yale was third with 26.

There were five recipients from Radcliffe. Smith and Wellesley had seven and six winners respectively.

The scholarships are only awarded to students in the Social Sciences and Humanities. Each fellowship covers a full year's tuition and fees at a graduate school of the Fellow's choice, plus a living allowance of $1500.

Nominations for the scholarships, which were subsidized in 1957 by a $24 million donation from the Ford Foundation, are made by the students' professors. This year the winners were chosen from 9,975 candidates, a slight decrease from a year ago.

Teaching Careers

Wilson Fellows are expected "to complete at least one year of graduate studies and to give serious thought to a career in college teaching," Sir Hugh Taylor, Foundation President, stated in his announcement of the awards.

The Harvard winners of the Woodrow Wilson Fellowships are: James C. Nohrnberg, Ted W. Margadant, John S. Rockwell, Roswell P. Angier, Donald G. Polvani, John McLaughlin, Norman T. Adler, John M. Carroll, and Richard M. Bulliet.

Other recipients were: Laurence H. Tribe, Alton B. Harris, Thomas F. Knott, Harry M. Lindquist, Paul D. D'Andrea, Bishop C. Hunt, Stephen E. Strom, Peter C. Ober, Robert R. Morris, and Saul A. Kripke.

John M. McKenzie, Cyrus D. Cantrell, Matthew D. Edel, Judd L. Kahn, Michael J. Piore, Peter W. Stanley, David G. Gullette, Steven M. Goldman, Paul S. Ronder, Michael D. Rohr, William I. Bennett, James J. Fox, William C. Taubman, and Martin Lampe also won scholarships.

Radcliffe winners are Sarah H. Bowen, Dulcie J. Eames, Alice B. Kasakoff, Mrs. S. K. Matisoff, and Vivien H. Oppenheim.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.