Ford Names Faculty Appointees; Two New Professorships Endowed

Two members of the Faculty were elected to the National Academy of Sciences this week. In addition, Dean Ford announced the establishment of two endowed professorships, and two Faculty appointments.

Howard W. Emmons, Gordon McKay Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Andrew M. Glcason, professor of Mathematics, are among 42 members elected to the Academy this year.

Cedric H. Whitman '43, professor of Greek and Latin, will become the first Francis Jones Professor of Classical Greek Literature next fall. Whitman has taught at Harvard since 1947.

He published a book of short poems, Orpheus and the Moon Craters, in 1941, and a narrative poem. Abelard, last year. He recently completed verse translations of the Alcestis and Ion of Euripides, now begin published.

Dean Ford also announced that Stephen Ullmann will become professor of Romance languages and Literatures in July of next year.

Ullmann is a literary critic and a scholar in linguistics. Among his critical studies are several works on French novelists of the turn of the century. His most recent books include Language and Style: collected Papers (1964), The Image in the Modern French Novel (1960), and Style in the French Novel (1957).

Charles A. Bliss, professor of Business Administration, has been appointed to the new Royal Little Professorship of Business Administration. Bliss helped to develop the Business School's courses in management control and is one of the original instructors in the Program for Management Development. He has taught at the Business School for nearly 30 years.

William L. Moran S.J. will become lecturer in Assyriology in July. Moran is a scholar in cuneiform studies.