Sailors Take Trophy, Top M.I.T. in Regatta

Harvard's varsity sailing team won another regatta Monday on the Charles River when it edged M.I.T., 34-41, in the Greater Boston Championships for the Rudolf Oberg Trophy. It was the 58th sailing of the semi-annual event, which M.I.T. won last spring.

Abbott Reeve skippered Harvard's winning entry in B division, and Joe Worth was the skipper in the victorious C division boat.

Settling for Fifth Best

In the weekend's major event, the two-day regatta for the Danmark Trophy in New London. Harvard had to settle for fifth place in the twelve-team field. The Crimson, though it won the first competition for the trophy in 1942, has not won since 1953.

Harvard was second behind M.I.T. in a regatta Saturday at Tufts as skipper Doug Allen and crew Welcome Bender won the A division.


The Yardlings were fifth in a ten-school regatta competition Sunday at Yale.