Sailors Capture Dartmouth Bowl As Doyle Excels in Dinghy Races

The Harvard sailors spent last weekend in eliminations for the New England championship regattas. The Crimson emerged with a win in the dinghy competition and at least four qualifiers in the single-handed heats.

On Saturday Harvard won the Dartmonth Bowl, awarded to the winner of the New England dinghy elimination beat at Tufts. All-American Robbie Doyle devastated his opposition in Division "A", while in Division "B" Abbott Reeve and Charlie Koch-sharing the skipper duties-tied for low-point honors.

Doyle, Reeve, Koch and Steve Glovinsky qualified for the New England single-handed sailing championships in heats on Sunday.

Dinghy Regatta

In the dinghy regatta on Saturday, Doyle, with Koch and Phil DeNormandie alternating at crew, took three firsts and two seconds in the six-team field for a seven-point total.


In Division "B", Reeve took a first and then two seconds, and then gave way to Koch who took a second and a third to give the Division "B" boat ten points to tie M. I. T.'s co-skippers, Tom Bergen and Al Spoon.

The New England dinghy championships will be held May 8 and 9 at Yale.

Koch turned in the most outstanding performance in the single-handeds. In a nine-man heat at Tufts, he took four firsts and two seconds. In a second heat at Tufts, Reeve, with 14 points, took a second to Spoon, with 11 points. Reeve, weighing in at a mere 124 pounds, had trouble with a severe, gusty wind, but after lunch it died down and he took first in the final two races.

In the toughest of all the heats, Doyle swept to a first at the Coast Guard Academy. Doyle won the New Englands last year and went on to win the North American collegiates and the North American open. The Crimson's Dave Little was third in his heat and still has a chance to qualify if third-place finishers are chosen later. In the second heat at Coast Guard, Glovinsky finished second to Bergen, while the Crimson's George Putnam was fifth.

There is still a question whether DeNormandie will also qualify because of a large procedural mix-up at the heat hosted by the University of Rhode Island. The official there held only three races.