Institute of Politics Appoints Ten as New Fellows for Year

Representative Barber B. Conable (R-N.Y.), Evelyn Dubrow, the legislative representative and executive secretary of the political department of the International Ladies' Garment Workers Union, and Clay T. Whitehead, director of the Office of Telecommunications Policy since 1970, are among the ten newly appointed fellows at the Institute of Politics.

Don K. Price, dean of the Kennedy School, and Jonathan Moore, director of the Institute of Politics, jointly announced the naming of the new fellows who include: Rev. Geno Baroni, president of the National Center for Urban Ethnic Affairs; and Thomas A. Dine, professional staff member of the Special Senate Committee on National Emergencies and Delegated Emergency Powers.

The other fellows are Peter M. Pitfield, Canadian deputy minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs; Mark Shields, political co-director of the Muskie for President Campaign in 1971-72; Neil Staebler, former Michigan congressman; David Stockman, executive director of the House Republican Conference; and, Art Torres, California assemblyman.

Fellowships are awarded on the initiative of the Institute subject to approval by the president and Fellows of Harvard University.

Established in 1966 as a memorial to John F. Kennedy, the Institute is designed to promote greater understanding between academia and the political world.


Conable, now serving his fifth term in Congress, is a member of the Committee on Ways and Means and a member of the Joint Economic Committee.

As chairman of the House Republicans' research committee, Conable led efforts to reorganize Congress. Those efforts included a proposal to eliminate the seniority system.

Domestic Summit

Conable is on the steering committee of President Ford's domestic summit conference and is thought by Capitol Hill observers to be "a man whose views carry weight in the new administration."

Dubrow, a former journalist, has long been active in labor organizations. In 1972 she was the recipient of the Legislative Government Award, given by the Opportunities Industrialization Centers of America.