Five Laxwomen Nab New England Honors

The final honors for the 1983 Harvard women's lacrosse squad rolled in yesterday, with five Crimson standouts nabbing spots on the prestigious All-New England team.

Heading the all-star squad were consensus All-Americans Maureen Finn and Francesca DenHartog. Fellow senior Jennifer White was Harvard's final offensive selection, while on defense, senior Jeanne Piersiak and sophomore Trina Burnham also garnered honors.

The five players named to the team marked the most ever for Harvard and came just two weeks after the Crimson completed one of its most successful seasons in history. The lax-women posted a 12-4-1 overall record and a 5-1 Ivy League mark en route to their third consecutive Ivy championship. The Crimson's season ended when the University of Massachusetts downed the laxwomen, 7-6, in the quarterfinals of the NCAA championship tournament.

That loss brought to a close the careers of Finn and DenHartog, the two finest women's lacrosse players in Harvard history. Yesterday's honor capped a brilliant season for Finn, who finished the year with 53 goals and 48 assists and was named the Ivy League Player of the Year.

DenHartog, a two-time Ivy League Player of the Year, led the team with 61 goals and added 10 assists. White was Harvard's third leading scorer this year posting 38 goals and 13 assists.


And back on defense. Piersiak and Burnham joined to provide fit-for most Crimson opponents. The duo provided tough defense, allowing an average of only its goals a game. NCAA Division I Baseball Northeast Regional At Orono, Maine Double-Elimination--Friday, May 27-Sunday, May 29 Temple (Seed 2) Game 1  (Winner game 1) HARVARD (3)   Game 3  (winner game 3) Maine (1) Game 2  (winner game 2) New York Tech (4)  Games 6 and (if needed) 7  Champion   (loser game 3)   Game 5  (winner game 5) (loser game 1) Game 4  (winner game 4) (loser game 2)