Phi Beta Kappa Chapters to Induct 24 Juniors

Twenty-four juniors were picked to join Harvard's Alpha and Iota chapters of Phi Beta Kappa in the first round of selections yesterday.

The twelve men and twelve women represent the first of several rounds of selections to Phi Beta Kappa, which will eventually consist of about 10 percent of next year's graduating senior class.

The initial nominations of 30 women and 24 men were based solely on their grade point averages (GPAs), and the final selections of 12 men and 12 women was based on students' courses and the breadth of their curriculum, according to Michelle Hewitt, assistant to the Dean of Students.

Recommendations of students by Faculty members were also weighed in the selection process, which was conducted by current undergraduate members and graduate officers, Hewitt said.

"I think they're terrific and I'm delighted at their choice, and at the same time it's always difficult to narrow down and select only 12," said Elisabeth W. Swain '63, current president of the Iota Chapter.


The GPAs of the women who were finally selected ranged from 14.3 to 14.9, said Sheryl A. Brandalik '94, who coordinated the women's selection process.

Hewitt, who was in charge of the men's program, declined to give the corresponding GPAs for the men selected.

While the selections of men and women were conducted separately by the Alpha and Iota chapters, respectively, next year the two will merge into one chapter called the Alpha Iota of Massachusetts.

For this new chapter, 24 juniors will be chosen to join, regardless of gender, and the students will be chosen by three selection committees in the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences.

Many students were excited to learn of their selection to the honor society.

"It's a great honor and a privilege to be selected to join this auspicious organization of scholars," said Samuel J. Rascoff '96, who is a Crimson editor. "I'm flattered in the best sense of the word."

"I was definitely surprised. It's a big honor," said Edith A. Replogle '96, who is a Crimson editor.

Other men selected to the Alpha chapter were Samuel M. Brown, Sumit K. Daftuar, Edward J. Han, Paul Li, Frank A. Pasquale, Andrea G. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, Zachary S. Taylor, Ramin Toloui-Tehrani, Felix T. Wu, Yong Yeow Y.Yeoh and Jake S. Yeston.

The other women selected to the Iota chapterwere Priya R. Aiyar, Alice S. Chen, Marit E.Haahr, Leora I. Horwitz, Alison J. Huang, JeanneL. Kwong, Monique R. Morgan, Maureen M. O'Brien,Jennifer Sun, Rachel K. Teukolsky and Kristen A.Van Amburg