Foundation Honors 25 Students

Ceremony Highlights Contributions to Cultural Understanding

The Harvard Foundation for Intercultural and Race Relations honored 25 students Tuesday for their contribution to cultural understanding.

The Director's Award, the group's top honor, was given to Andrea N. Taylor '95 for her work with public service organizations including Cultural Rhythms, Citystep and the Foundation.

"I think it is encouraging to see individuals in the Harvard community making significant contributions," said Taylor, who has worked with the Foundation for three years.

The Foundation awards, given at the Aloian Dinner in Quincy House, honored students who worked to bring different minority groups together, according to Jean Tom '96, an award recipient and co-chair of the Minority Students Alliance.

"It is important to have dialogue between the leaders of different minority groups even if there isn't a specific problem," Tom said. "It is a way to develop relations so no problems arise."


Recipient Cesar R. Conde '95, founder of the Cuban-American Undergraduate Student Association (CAUSA), said he created the group in 1993 to raise awareness of Cuban culture.

"I felt it was important to found CAUSA to foster awareness of the Cuban culture in the Harvard community, and to support a free and democratic Cuba," he said.

Although the dinner is primarily for honoring students, the Foundation also recognized Dean of the College L. Fred Jewett '57 and Alan R. Crite '68, who received an award for his contribution to the visual arts.

Jewett, who is retiring this July, was honored for his years of service to the Harvard community.

The Foundation began presenting these awards 10 years ago to recognize students involved with intercultural and race relations at Harvard, said Kate Gould, an assistant administrator of the Foundation.

Students are selected for the award after the Foundation reviews letters of recommendation from house masters, senior tutors and faculty members.

Sixteen students were award recipients while nine others were honorable mentions.

Dean of Students Archie C. Epps III and several house masters, include the masters of North and Quincy Houses, also attended the annual awards dinner.