BGLTSA Elects Next Year's Officers

Michael A. Hill '02 and Michael K.T. Tan '01 will serve as the 1999-2000 co-chairs of the Bisexual, Gay, Lesbian, Transgender and Supporters' Alliance (BGLTSA), election officials announced yesterday.

Anna M. Baldwin '00 and Mikhaela B. Reid '02 were chosen as the new vice chairs in the annual election. Jeffrey P. Morgan '02 will serve as the next treasurer.

Hill said he was excited at the prospect of serving on the BGLTSA board.

"I hope to just keep the BGLTSA in the forefront of gay life at Harvard and continue to have exciting social events with events of a slight political persuasion," Hill said.

Both Baldwin and Reid expressed interest in outreach outside the University.

"My big priority is to connect the BGLTSA to the community beyond Johnston Gate," Baldwin said.

Reid said she was interested in the possibility of going to local high schools and speaking to students.

"We don't think it should be just about Harvard issues," she said.

Reid added that she would like to see more networking between queer student groups on campus.

"We have a lot of different resources that people don't know about, like the BGLTSA Resource Center," Reid said.

Election voting took place at a Sunday night meeting in Adams House, after candidates delivered speeches. Those who could not attend the meeting voted online until midnight Wednesday.

Hill and Tan will replace Nicole L. Deblosi '99 and Adam A. Sofen '01, who is also a Crimson editor, in June.

Tan could not be reached for comment.

Recommended Articles