Glenn Named Crimson President

Malcom A. Glenn ’09 will lead the newly elected 135th Guard of The Harvard Crimson, the paper’s outgoing president announced Friday.

Glenn, a history concentrator from Denver, Colo. and Leverett House, has served as an associate on the Sports board since February. He will assume the president’s post at the start of the spring semester. He will be the first black president of The Crimson in more than a half-century.

The paper’s outgoing editors elected their successors early Friday morning, and the president of the 134th Guard, Kristina M. Moore ’08, announced the results to the staff Friday afternoon.

“I am very eager to see in what new directions the 135th can take the paper,” Moore said. “The new executives have demonstrated through their phenomenal talent and dedication that they will confidently lead the building and leave a legacy of accomplishment.”

Glenn will be joined on The Crimson’s masthead by the managing editor-elect, Paras D. Bhayani ’09, and the business manager-elect, Gideon L. Lowin ’09.

The Crimson, founded in 1873, is the only daily newspaper in Cambridge, Mass., and the oldest continuously published daily college newspaper.

It chooses its leaders through an election process known as the “turkey shoot,” in which all outgoing editors are invited to participate. A successful candidate must receive at least 75 percent of the vote.

The other newly-elected leaders include:

Laurence H. M. Holland ’09 and Samuel P. Jacobs ’09, associate managing editors

Patrick R. Chesnut ’09 and Jake G. Cohen ’09, arts chairs

Aditi Banga ’09 and Samantha P. Krug ’10, design chairs

Emma M. Lind ’09 and Ramya Parthasarathy ’09, editorial chairs,

Daniel C. Carroll ’09, information technology chair

Nicola C. Perlman ’09 and Nicole G. White ’09, magazine chairs

Hillary W Berkowitz ’09 and Meghan T. Purdy ’09, photography chairs

Brad Hinshelwood ’09 and Madeleine I. Shapiro ’09, sports chairs