44 Reps. Elected to Undergraduate Council

Harvard’s Undergraduate Council has elected 44 new representatives, 16 of whom served on the Council last year.

One hundred three undergraduates competed this year to represent their House or freshman yard on the council. Of the winners, only about 30 percent are women, a sharp decline from last year, when the entire council was nearly evenly split.

According to an email forwarded to The Crimson by UC Vice President Sietse K. Goffard ’15, the UC Election Commission has finalized and confirmed the winners.

Among those re-elected include three members of the UC’s executive committee, Secretary Stephen A. Turban ’17, Finance Committee Chair Leah C. Singer '16, and Student-Faculty Committee Director Happy Yang ’16.

Though executive committee terms, including those of the body’s president and vice president, usually last for the calendar year, the UC constitution mandates that those who have switched Houses during their term must come up for election in the fall. Yang, who did not switch Houses, was mandated to campaign for re-election because she does not lead a standing committee, according to Goffard.


Former UC Parliamentarian Manik R. Kuchroo '16, of Mather House, will return to the Council after resigning from his post last spring. Kuchroo resigned in the face of an internal review focused on his accrued absences from Council meetings; the review was never initiated following his resignation.

Here is a comprehensive list of the Council’s new class of representatives:

Elm Yard

Samarth Gupta ’18

Jason S. Cui ’18

Yasmin Z. Sachee ’18

Ivy Yard

William Oh ’18

Brett J. Dowling ’18

Wyatt M. Robertson ’18

Crimson Yard

Cole C. Scanlon ’18

Anna T. Wechsler ’18

Hugo Yen ’18

Oak Yard

Berkeley Brown ’18

Scott Ely ’18

Eduardo A. Gonzalez ’18


Jason A. Mahr ’17

Chuyue Zhou ’17


Luke R. Heine ’17*

Jacob R. Steinberg-Otter ’16

Shaiba Rather ’17


Stephen A. Turban ’17*

Happy Yang ’16*

Rishi Goel ’15*


Zachary W. Popp ’15


Daniel V. Banks ’17

Mark M. Natividad ’16*

Sriram V. Pendyala ’15*


James Lim ’16

Rahul Dalal ’15*

Phebe J. Hong ’16


Quinn D. Hatoff ’15*

Riya N. Patel ’17*


Shirley Choicer ’17

Isaac G. Inkeles ’16*


Gavin S. Sullivan ’17

Karim Pirbay ’16*


Manik R. Kuchroo ’16*

Michelle S. Lee ’16

Domenica A. Merino ’17


William A. Greenlaw ’17

Devvret Rishi ’16


Leah C. Singer ’16*

Kaitlyn J. Jeong ’16

Brett M. Biebelberg ’16*


Vimal S. Konduri ’17* **

Eva Stojchevska ’15*

Daniel R. Levine ’17**

* Representative on last year’s Council

** Crimson Editor

—Staff writer Noah J. Delwiche can be reached at Follow him on Twitter @ndelwiche.