The New Gen Ed Lottery System, Explained


Armed Individuals Sighted in Harvard Square Arraigned


Harvard Students Form Coalition Supporting Slave Photo Lawsuit's Demands


Police Apprehend Armed Man and Woman in Central Square


107 Faculty Called for Review of Tenure Procedures in Letter to Dean Gay


Relay Team Defeats Pennsylvania.--Juniors Win the Class Championship.


The eleventh annual indoor meet of the Boston Athletic Association was held in Mechanics Hall Saturday evening. In twelve events, Harvard men won two first, two second, and two third places, although a number of the best Harvard runners were reserved for the relay races. The Harvard relay team easily defeated Pennsylvania, and the second team was given the race against B. A. A. on a foul. The '01 team won the class championship with little difficulty.

In the relay race against Pennsylvania, J. H. Converse '02 took the pole from Cook at the first turn and finished with a good lead. S. H. Bush '01, A. L. Dean '00 and W. G. C erk '01 each increased the lead, Harvard winning by over 100 feet in 3m. 12 2-5s. The individual time was as follows: Converse, 48 2-5s., Bush 48 3-5s, Dean 47 3-5s., and Clark 47 4-5s.

B. A. A. had the pole in the race with the Harvard second team, and T. P. Curtis at the start gained a short lead over M. L. Bernstein '01. Bernstein, however, caught up on the second lap, and just as he was gaining the lead he was pushed by Curtis and fell. B. A. A. was about 30 yards ahead at the end of the first relay, and J. G. Willis '02, M. F. Hewitt '01 and M. T. Lightner '03 were unable to reduce this lead. B. A. A.'s time was 3m. 17 1-5s. The referee awarded the race to Harvard on a foul. In the class race between '00 and '01, E. H. Webb, C. J. Swan and G. E. Behr, Jr., gained a long lead for the Juniors against E. J. Sanderson, F. W. Buxton and E. Ingraham. S. F. Rockwell '00 started so far behind W. A. Applegate '01 that the latter finished ahead easily. The Juniors' time was 3m. 25 2-5s. H. J. Winslow, in the next race, started out with a short lead for '02, but was passed on the last lap by J. E. Haigh, who finished with a good lead for '03. E. M. Ayer and O. Chew gained for the Freshmen over C. H. Schweppe and C. Seaver. A. M. Butler '02 was unable to overtake J. W. Foster '03, and '03 won the race easily in 3m. 22 1-5s. In the final race Haigh gained a short lead for the Freshmen over Webb, but Swan closed up on Ayer and they finished almost even. Chew fell on one of the corners and was easily beaten by Behr. Applegate started with a long lead over Foster and the Juniors won easily in 3m. 20 2-5s. In the other team races Cornell beat Columbia, Dartmouth beat Brown, Williams beat Amherst, Bowdoin beat Technology, and Andover beat Exeter.

The 40-yard invitation was won by A. F. Duffy of Georgetown in 4 3-5s., the world's record. J. W. Tewksbury of Pennsylvania was a close second. G. M. Leonard '03 qualified for the semi-finals in the 40-yard novice, but did not get a place in the event. In the 40-yard handicap E. H. Smith '00, 7 ft., G. F. Henneberry '02, 8 ft., and E. H. Webb '01, 8 ft., qualified for the semi-finals. In the 45-yard low hurdles H. W. Locke '02, 7 ft.; W. G. Morse '99, scratch; F. C. Ware '01, 6 ft.; H. F. Cochems 3L., 8 ft.; S. G. Ellis '01, 6 ft., and J. H. Shirk '02, 4 ft., qualified for the semi-finals. Shirk won third place in the event. The 2-mile invitation run for the indoor championship of America was closely contested between A. Grant of Pennsylvania and D. Grant, C. G. A., the former winning by less than a yard in 10m. 2 3-5s. The 1000-yard run was won by J. Bray, Williams, scratch, in 2m. 25 3-5s. R. McC. Walsh '02, 35 yds., was a good second. The running high jump resulted in a tie between N. F. Glidden '03, 5 in., and F. C. Ware '01, 5 in., each making an actual jump of 5 ft., 6 5-8 in. Glidden won the jump-off. A. N. Rice '00, C. M. Rotch '01 and S. G. Ellis '01 were tied for the best actual jump, 5 ft. 9 3-4 in. H. F. Cochems 3L., 2 ft. 3 in., won the shot-put with an actual put of 42 ft. 7 1-2 in. B. E. Mulligan of the Knickerbocker Athletic Club, 9 in., won the three standing jumps, with an actual jump of 34 ft. 8 in., breaking the world's record by 2 inches. E. H. Smith '00, 12 in., was third with an actual jump of 32 ft. 10 1-2 in.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.