On Soldiers and Jarvis Fields at 2.--Doubles Entries Close at 6.

The singles matches in the fall tournament for the University tennis championship will begin on Jarvis and Soldiers Fields this afternoon. The entry of 134 men is an increase of three over last year and of two over the year before.

Courts will be reserved and no charge will be made for their use. Balls, however, must be furnished by the contestants. The matches will be for the best two out of three sets and must be played on the day scheduled or else defaulted, except in case of rain, when they will be played on the day following. If their opponents fail to appear within one-half hour of scheduled time, contestants may claim default. Score cards have been placed in the CRIMSON office, and the results of the matches must be recorded by the winners each day. In case the result of any match is not posted by 7 o'clock in the evening of the day of the match, both contestants will be disqualified.

The pairings, together with the times and places for the matches follow. Those men whose names are starred must leave their entrance fees at Leavitt & Peirce's before they will be allowed to play.

Entries for the University championship in doubles close at Leavitt & Peirce's today at 6 o'clock.

The following matches will be played on Jarvis Field at 2 o'clock.


Preliminary round--A. Z. Pyles '10 vs. J. C. Prizer 3L., T. Buel '13 vs. F. B. Waller '13, J. C. Evans 3G. vs. L. B. Lee 3L., M. Smith 1L. vs. T. B. Townsend, Jr., '10, F. N. Whitman '12 vs. W. B. Fraser-Campbell '11, G. H. Kaemmerling '12 vs. S. McBee, Jr., 2L.

First Round--G. P. Gardner, Jr., '10 vs. J. M. R. Lyeth 3L., E. M. Ach '11 vs. C. G. Krause 3L., A. H. Hayum '13 vs. T. J. Newbold '10, R. B. Batchelder '13 vs. C. M. Underwood 5G., Q. A. S. McKean '13 vs. C. deRham, 3d, '10, I. S. Joseph '11 vs. J. D. Foot, Jr., '10, R. B. Suckley '12 vs. F. P. Abbot '11, T. S. Kenyon '11 vs. H. G. Smith '13, W. B. Harris '13 vs. G. W. Miller '12, A. Baltzly. '12 vs. G. Burt 2L., F. Frelinghuysen 3L. vs. T. T. McCabe '12, T. B. Lewis '13 vs. E. R. Chapin '10, H. S. McKee '13 vs. C. P. Aiken '11, R. T. Pratt '13, vs. F. Minot '13, E. T. Dana 1G. vs. W. J. Hamersley 1L., L. J. Grinnel '12 vs. S. P. Hall '10, A. H. Tomes '13 vs. S. Minot '13, G. B. Post '13 vs. R. H. Bolling '12, G. Sturgis '13 vs. A. S. Dahney, Jr., '09, C. S. Cutting '12 vs. G. E. Stephenson '10, A. J. Lowrey '13, vs. A. P. Everts '10, G. K. Munroe '10 vs. H. Nickerson '11, F. M. Davis '12 vs. J. Peynel's 3L., C. Chadwick '11 vs. R. R. Brumley 3L., S. H. Bowen Sp. vs. A. M. Hyde '12, J. Wheelwright '10 vs. P. Tunis '13, J. F. Day '10 vs. H. M. Suckley '10, G. C. Lawrence '12 vs. W. W. Ieonhauser '13, R. Asano '12 vs. A. Harvev, Jr., '11, Y. Arai '12 vs. H. A. Belfe sL., H. P. Burt 2L. vs. L. N. Secord 3L., G. R. Pratt '13 vs. R. G. Eaton '12, N. F. Paine, Jr., '13 vs. G. Fahnestock '10.

The following matches will be played on Soldiers Field at 2 o'clock:

First round--P. L. Cohn '12 vs. G. Munroe '13 A. E. Block 3L. vs. J. A. Simpson '12, E. S. Lancaster '12 vs. T. A. E. Harris '11, M. Steinhardt '11 vs. O. H. Moore 3G., C. C. Kimball '13 vs. H. T. Moore 1G., B. Wallace 2L. vs. C. W. Rice '10, A. Ames 2L. vs. H. J. Cadbury 3G., G. B. Cummings '13 vs. K. Brewster 2L., G. E. McQuester '12 vs. F. H. Hall '10, A. C. Adams '10 vs. R. V. M. Gambrill '13, F. G. Carey '10 vs. A. Sweetser '11, C. R. Branch 2L. vs. J. W. Peter 1L., P. T. Large, Jr., '10 vs. C. Bosson '11, J. L. Goodbody 2L. vs. H. L. Clark '13, P. Perkins '10 vs. T. York 1G., W. P. Fuller '10 vs. G. D. Howie '11.

The following will play at Jarvis Field at 3.30 o'clock:

First round--S. S. Hanks '12 vs. H. S. R. Buffinton 1L., E. W. Ellis '11 vs. C. Dunham '10, A. Mitchell Asst. vs. P. C. Cummin '12, J. H. Pettus '12 vs. R. W. Morgan '10, E. S. Wolston '10 vs. S. Chase '10, E. H. Wilkins Instr. vs. A. R. Dupont '12, R. Burroughs '12 vs. J. Elliot '12, M. S. Rice '12 vs. A. Arellano 1G., C. McC. Snow 1L. vs. W. S. Howe '13, A. J. Campruli '13, vs. T. Fort 1G., F. W. Copeland '13 vs. R. Crosbie '11, W. C. Rempfer 3L. vs. N. M. Doten '13