Applications for Norton Fellowship

Men who wish to apply for the Charles Eliot Norton Fellowship must hand in their applications to Professor A. A. Howard '82; Chairman of the Department of the Classics, before tomorrow evening.

The Charles Eliot Norton Fellowship was founded by James Loeb '88, of New York City. The competition for it is open to Seniors of Harvard College or to members of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, and to Seniors and graduates of Radcliffe College. It has an annual income of $800.

The award will be made on the basis (1) of a thesis on an approved subject, (2) of such other evidence of scholarship as may be accessible. In the award no account will be taken of the financial means of the candidates; and no award will be made in case the theses offered are not of sufficient merit.

The following subjects for theses are proposed by the Committee of Award: (1) "The Proverbial Philosophy of Plato"; (2) "The Expression of Pathos in Homer"; (3) "The Dramatic Element in Thucydides"; (4) "Lucian as an Art Critic"; (5) "The Oresteia of Aeschylus, as illustrated by Greek Vase-Painting"; (6) "The Art of Menander, with a study of his influence on Roman Comedy"; (7) "Funeral Rites in Greek Poetry and Art of the Fifth Century, with a study of their inner significance"; (8) "The Relation of the Idylls of Theocritus to the Hellenistic Reliefs."

Candidates may, however, with the consent of the Committee, write on other classical subjects.


Editors of the "Harvard Studies in Classical Philology" are to have the right to publish the thesis of the successful candidate.

The incumbent of the Fellowship must agree to pursue his studies for the year of his incumbency at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens.

The theses of the approved candidates must be presented to the Chairman of the Committee not later than February 15, 1910.

Further information may be obtained from the Committee of Award which consists of Professor H. W. Smyth '78, Chairman: Professor C. B. Gulick '90, and Professor M. H. Morgan '81.