Theses Must Be Submitted to Committee Before December 1.

The subjects of theses and the rules governing the Charles Eliot Norton Fellowship for the current academic year are given below. Undergraduates and graduates of Harvard University and of Radcliffe College may compete for this fellowship. It has an annual income of $800.

The award will be made by a committee appointed by the Department of Classics on the basis (1) of a thesis on a subject approved by this committee, and (2) of such other evidence of scholarship as may be accessible. In special circumstances the committee may, at its discretion, dispense with the requirement of the thesis. In the award no account will be taken of the financial means of the competitor; and no award will be made in case the theses offered are not of sufficient merit. The editors of the Harvard Studies in Classical Philology are to have the right to publish the thesis of the successful candidate.

The incumbent of the fellowship must agree to pursue his studies for the year of his incumbency at the American School of Classic Studies at Athens. The following subjects of theses are proposed by the committee: 1. The Expression of Pathos in Homer. 2. The Dramatic Art of Menander. 3. The Humanism of Euripides. 4. Lucian as a Critic of Art. 5. The Romantic Element in the later Greek Epic. 6. Greek Comedy in the Light of Contemporary Vase-painting. 7. Imperialism and Religion at Athens in the Fifth Century B.C. 8. The Iliupersis in the Work of the Greek Vase-painters. Candidates may, however, write on other classical subjects.

Applications for admission to candidacy must be made to the chairman of the Department of the Classics not later than December 1, 1912, and the theses of approved candidates must be presented to the chairman not later than February 15, 1913. Further information may be obtained from the committee, Herbert Weir Smyth, Charles Barton Gulick, George H. Chase.

James Loeb '88, of New York, established the fellowship as an expression of his regard and respect for Professor Norton, and in recognition of Professor Norton's eminent services to Classical Archaeology.