Undergraduates Founded Society for Contemporary Art, Precursor of New Metropolitan Success

Four Harvard undergraduates, three of whom were founders of the Harvard Society of Contemporary Art, have been selected by trustees of the Museum of Modern Art in New York to serve on an advisory committee of 21 young persons, who will help the Museum constantly to keep abreast of the times. The Harvard students who have been selected are John Walker 3rd '30, L. E. Kirstein '30, E. M. M. Warburg '30, and Philip Johnson ocC.

The Museum of Modern Art, the American Luxembourg, was founded last spring by a group of art followers who felt that the Metropolitan Museum in New York was not keeping up adequately with the modern art that has arisen in the past few years. For this reason the new museum was founded, as a place where modern works of the most advanced types could be exhibited, and, if they proved worthy, be moved to the older gallery for permanent showing.

Venture Very Successful

In its first year of existence, this project proved tremendously popular, one of its displays in particular being attented by more than 40,000 people. At present the Museum has gathered together funds for a building of its own, construction on which is soon to be begun.

When the trustees selected these four Harvard men for the committee, they realized that three of the men in question have just brought to a successful conclusion the first year of the Harvard Contemporary Art Society. In this connection they will be especially useful, the trustees have declared, in making suggestions as to exhibits, purchases, and other features of the Museum management.