New President Leads Football Team, Is Member of Track Team, and Is On Dunster House Committee

John Herbert Dean, of Cohasset, Stanton Whitney, Jr., of Red Bank, New Jersey, and Guy Scull Hayes, of Andover were elected respectively yesterday to the presidency, vice-presidency, and secretary-treasurership of the Junior Class, R. H. Martin '34, retiring president, announced last night.

Only 317 members of the Junior Class cast ballots for their officers, and the vice-president was elected on 83 ballots.

Football Captain

Dean, who prepared for Harvard at Exeter, was elected captain of next year's football team in December. In his Freshman year, he was a member of the football and hockey teams and vice-president of the class. This year he is a member of the track team as well as full-back on the football team, and a member of the Dunster House Committee. Whitney, who prepared at Groton, was substitute quarterback on this year's football team. Hayes prepared at Andover, and is a member of the Instrumental Clubs and associate hockey manager.

The voting was as follows: For President John Herbert Dean  168 Bradford Simmons  104 Paul deBarsy deGive  45 For Vice-President Stanton Whitney, Jr.  83 Taggart Whipple  69 John Parker Hale Chandler, Jr.  58 Eddy James Rogers  57 Atreus Von Schrader, Jr.  45 For Secretary-Treasurer Guy Scull Hayes  106 Chester Harding King, Jr.  69 John Redmond Canavan  58 Roger Haydock Weed  37 Hobart Ames Spalding  30 Mason Hills Stone, Jr.  13


Recommended Articles