The Path to Public Service at SEAS


Should Supreme Court Justices Have Term Limits? That ‘Would Be Fine,’ Breyer Says at Harvard IOP Forum


Harvard Right to Life Hosts Anti-Abortion Event With Students For Life President


Harvard Researchers Debunk Popular Sleep Myths in New Study


Journalists Discuss Trump’s Effect on the GOP at Harvard IOP Forum


Four Winners Are Picked From Field of Ten Speakers by Park, Holmes and Maynard at Paine Hall


Four undergraduates received the Lee Wade and Boylston Prizes for Elocution last night in a competition which featured speeches of the most uniform excellence in recent years, in the opinion of Frederick C. Packard '20, assistant professor of Public Speaking.

Ten speakers participated in the finals of the competition, which were witnessed by an enthusiastic audience of over 200 people in Paine Hall of the Music Building.

Miller Takes First

Edward Oehler Miller '37, of St. Louis, Missouri, won the Lee Wade prize for his rendition of Walter Lippmann's 1935 Harvard Phi Beta Kappa Address. The Wade prize carries a stipend of $50.

Three Boylston Prizes were awarded, one of $50 and two of $35. Winner of the first prize was Robert Dunn '37, of Somerville, for his interpretation of "Justice," by Huo-Hsiang Wu.

Roy Mayer Cohen '36, of Brooklyn, New York, took second with selections from "John Brown's Body" by Stephen Vincent Benet, while David Park McAllester '38, of Everett, placed third, giving Vachel Lindsay's "The Congo."

Park, Holmes Judge

Judging the speeches were the Reverend Dr. Charles Edwards Park, minister of the First Unitarian Church in Boston, Henry Wyman Holmes '03, Dean of the Graduate School of Education, and Professor Newell Carroll Maynard to Tufts College.

Robert Carlton Hall '36, Third Marshal of the Senior Class and a member of Phi Beta Kappa, presided at the meeting.

Founding of Awards

The Lee Wade Prize was founded in 1915 by Dr. Francis Henry Wade in Memory of his son, Lee Wade, 2d, of the class of 1914.

The Boylston Prizes are of older origin, having been founded in 1817 by Ward Nichols Boylston in honor of his uncle, Nicholas Boylston. He established the Boylston Professorship of Rhetoric and Oratory, a position at present held in emeritus by Charles Townsend Copelaud '82, who was honorary judge of the speeches last night.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.