Annual Report Finds Harvard Kennedy School Faculty Remains Largely White, Male


Harvard Square Celebrates Oktoberfest


Harvard Corporation Members Donated Big to Democrats in 2020 Elections


City Council Candidates Propose Strategies for Supporting Low-Income Residents at Virtual Forum


FAS Dean Gay Hopes to Update Affiliates on Ethnic Studies Search by Semester’s End

Morgan and Scott of Law Faculty Named as Endowed Professors

Promotions Fellow Retirement Of Beal and Williston


Five distinguished members of the Law School Faculty have been elected to hold historic endowed professorships, it was announced yesterday.

Following the recent retirement of Joseph H. Beale, and Samuel, Williston, Edmund M. Morgan '02, Bussey Professor of Law, and Austin W. Scott, Story Professor of Law, have been elected to the Royall Professorship of Law and the Dane Professorship of Law, respectively.

Professor Morgan has been a member of the Faculty of Law since 1925, and since 1935 has served on the Advisory Committee for the United States Supreme Court on Rules for Civil Procedure.

Member of the Faculty of Law since 1927, Professor Warren A. Seavey '02 has been appointed to the third oldest endowed chair in the Law School, the Bussey Professorship of Law. The Professor was dean and professor at the University of Nebraska Law School from 1920 to 1926.

Langdell Professor of Law here since 1928, Thomas Reed Powell and been elevated to the Story Professorship of Law, fourth oldest endowed chair at the Law School. Professor Powell taught Constitutional Law at Columbia before coming here in 1925. Zechariah Chaffee, Jr., professor of Law since 1919, will occupy the Langdell chair.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.