Amid Boston Overdose Crisis, a Pair of Harvard Students Are Bringing Narcan to the Red Line


At First Cambridge City Council Election Forum, Candidates Clash Over Building Emissions


Harvard’s Updated Sustainability Plan Garners Optimistic Responses from Student Climate Activists


‘Sunroof’ Singer Nicky Youre Lights Up Harvard Yard at Crimson Jam


‘The Architect of the Whole Plan’: Harvard Law Graduate Ken Chesebro’s Path to Jan. 6

Balloting for Eight Senior Class Officers, Three Junior Album Committeemen Starts



Juniors and Seniors will fill 23 ballot boxes today and tomorrow when they go to the polls to elect 11 men to class positions from a field of 62. The Class of 1941 will elect men to the posts of first, second, and third Marshals, Treasurer, Chorister, Orator, Poet, and Odist, while 1942 will select three men for their Album Committee.

Eight men have been added to the ballots by petition, from both Junior and Senior Classes. Seth C. Crocker and Dan E. Flickinger have been nominated for Marshal, while George L. Blackman was nominated for Orator. From the Junior Class Howard W. Young and Richard E. Johnson were nominated to the Album Committee. E. Langdon Burwell, who had been nominated for Marshal, has refused the nomination.

Added to the second ballot, which will be up for election March 18 and 19 are Seniors Sheldon Dietz and Richard T. Hartwell for Class Day Committee and Lester G. Hawkins for the Permanent Class Committee.

Polling Places

The polling places will be in all the House Dining Halls, Widener Library, Sever, Emerson, and Harvard Halls, the Hasty Pudding Club, and in all the final and waiting clubs.

Counting the ballots will be committees headed by Harrison T. Blaine '42, who will total the Senior vote, and Henry Hornblower, Jr. '41, who will handle the Junior ballots. The results will be announced in the CRIMSON Thursday morning.

Marshal Oldest Post

Many distinguished men have held class offices in the past, and several of the positions date far back in the history of the College. The oldest office is that of Marshal, which probably originated sometime around the founding of the College in 1636.

Three governors of Massachusetts, a Supreme Court justice, a president of the University, and several well-known faculty members have been elected to the office of Marshal.

Probably the best known man to have held the post of Orator is Oliver Wendell Holmes '61. T. S. Eliot '10, Horatio Alger, Jr. '52, David Muzzey '93, author of the famous History textbook, Dean Chase '96, and Kenneth B. Murdock '16, the Master of Leverett House, are a few of the men who have written odes in the long history of Class Day.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.