HLU Delegates Sponsor ADA Policy on 'Freedom of Clubs'

Eight Liberal Union members attended the national convention of Americans for Democratic Action in Chicago last week and successfully sponsored a policy in favor of letting any student group form a club, regardless of political views.

Fred Wyle '51, HLU member sitting as proxy for a North Carolina delegation, brought up the proposal that student groups should be free from political restrictions. The HLU delegation backed Wyle's proposal vigorously, according to Herbert S. Levine '50, Liberal Union President.

"Heated" Discussion

During the "heated" discussion, the delegation insisted that students are smart enough to resist the influence of organizations advocating un-American ways, but should be allowed to hear and understand all political views. The suggestion was accepted as ADA policy after considerable pushing by the HLU delegation, Levine said.

Previously in the meeting, the ADA adopted a policy of complete academic freedom for teachers. This question was also supported by the HLU. "Should communists be allowed to teach?" was the basic problem, and when the policy was finally set it averred that teachers should be judged solely on academic ability, that they should be completely free in other connections, and that they should bear no guilt through their associations.

Official delegates at the convention last Friday, Saturday, and Sunday were: Thomas R. Brooks '50, C. William Chastain '52, Donald M. Gish '50, President Levine, and Robert A. Levine '50. Three other HLU members who were proxy delegates for other schools were Lionel Jaffee '50, Irwin R. Karassik '50, and Wyle.

Largest Chapter

HLU is connected with the ADA through the Students for Democratic Action, of which it is the largest chapter.

Harvard teachers who were active at the convention include John T. Dunlop, associate professor of Economics; Alvin H. Hansen, Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Political Economy; Seymour E. Harris '20, professor of Economics; and Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. '38, associate professor of History.