Anthropology Dept. Forms Eight Committees in Response to Harassment and Gender Bias Concerns


Harvard Cancels Summer 2021 Study Abroad Programming


UC Showcases Project Shedding Light on How Harvard Uses Student Data


Four Bank Robberies Strike Cambridge in Three Weeks


After a Rocky Year, Harvard Faces an Uncertain Economic Climate in 2021, Hollister Says

Keith Chosen Track Captain; Schiff Gets New '53 Trophy


Charles Clarke Keith, Jr. '51 of West Roxbury, was elected yesterday afternoon to captain next year's varsity track team. At the annual banquet last night in the Upper Common Room of the Union, javelin-ace Keith expressed hope for an undefeated 1951 season capped by a win over a weekend Yale squad.

Several awards were presented at the banquet, most important of which was the James L. McLaughlin Memorial Trophy, donated by members of last year's freshman squad. McLaughlin, a popular hurdler and broad jumper from Montana, died during the summer. The award, for the Freshman "who combines natural ability with a great deal of team spirit," west of Gilbert Martin Schiff, of Cincinnati and Wiggles worth Hall.

Schiff won the 220-yard dash in every meet this spring, as well as the 100 against Dartmouth and Yale.

Awards for greatest improvement went to sprinter-broad jumper Dave Carter, weight man Fred Ravreby, 17-year-old freshman hurdler Bob Twitchell, and quarter-miller Ed Grutzner.

Coach Jaakko Mikkola complimented the squad on its performances, commenting that "Harvard is not a place where you run for money--you compete for the joy of it, and this makes the best team. You can never underrate a Harvard team."

Carl Olsen announced yesterday that he will not be coaching the freshman track team next year. His present squad had a perfect spring record. No new coach has been appointed.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.