Former Defense Department General Counsel Appointed Harvard’s Top Lawyer


Democracy Center Protesters Stage ‘Emergency Rally’ with Pro-Palestine Activists Amid Occupation


Harvard Violated Contract With HGSU in Excluding Some Grad Students, Arbitrator Rules


House Committee on China to Probe Harvard’s Handling of Anti-CCP Protest at HKS


Harvard Republican Club Endorses Donald Trump in 2024 Presidential Election

Faculty Gives $5,800 For Hungarian Relief

400 Respond to Plea Of Eighteen Member Special Committee


More than four hundred donations, including two shares of stock, have raised over $5,800 in a faculty campaign for Hungarian relief which ended this week.

The results of the campaign were announced in a report by Harold C. Martin, director of General Education Ahf and chairman of The Harvard University Committee for Hungarian Relief.

No goal was set for the fund, but the response was beyond most expectations. The Committee received 406 contributions, varying from 50 cents to 250 dollars. Martin states that "considering the lateness of our start and the existence of several other solicitations for the same purpose, I believe that we can be well satisfied by this response. Certainly the American Friends' Service Committee is very grateful for this unlooked for addition to its relief funds."

The relief fund began in December as a result of the Hungarian revolts. On December ninth, an 18 member faculty group mailed letters to 2100 corporation appointees, asking for contributions to the American Friends Service Committee for refugee aid.

The amount collected in the campaign exceeded a recent all school Student Council drive by $5,000 dollars. The Council has contributed its $800 dollars indirectly to the World University Service.

The members of the committee include Samuel H. Beer, Paul Buck, J.N. Douglas Bush, Abram Chayes '43, Dean A. Clark, Merle Fainsod, John Finley, Jr. 25, Bertrand Fox, John K. Galbraith, Seymour E. Harris '20, Mark A. DeWolfe Howe '28, George B. Kistaikowsky, John V. Lintner, Harold C. Martin, Sumner H. Slichter, Charles H. Taylor, Robert Ulich, and John H. Van Vleck.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.