The Path to Public Service at SEAS


Should Supreme Court Justices Have Term Limits? That ‘Would Be Fine,’ Breyer Says at Harvard IOP Forum


Harvard Right to Life Hosts Anti-Abortion Event With Students For Life President


Harvard Researchers Debunk Popular Sleep Myths in New Study


Journalists Discuss Trump’s Effect on the GOP at Harvard IOP Forum

University Honors Scott and Howe For Outstanding Published Works


President Pusey awarded two major University prizes yesterday to Austin W. Scott '37, Dane Professor of Law, and Mark DeWolfe Howe '28, professor of Law.

Scott, an authority on trusts, received the $1,000 Ledlie Prize for the individual at the University who has "made the most valuable contribution to science, or to the benefit of mankind" for his "Treatise on Trusts," published in 1956.

The $2,000 Faculty Prize of the Harvard University Press for the most distinguished contribution to scholarship published by the Press, was awarded to Howe for his book, "Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes: The Shaping Years." In his youth, Howe served as a secretary to Holmes.

The University also announced yesterday that Seymour E. Harris '20, professor of Economics, and Arthur Smithies, professor of Economics, will occupy endowed chairs in Economis, beginning July 1.

Harris' studies include regional, national, and international economic problems. He was appointed Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Political Economy,

Smithies, an authority on economic theory and fiscal policy, will be Nathaniel Ropes Professor of Political Economy. He will succeed John H. Williams, who retires this summer.

Five additional professorships were announced yesterday in the Law School and the College. Herbert Dieckmann, professor of Romance Languages and Literature, was named Smith Professor of the French and Spanish Languages; Nicolas Bloembergen and Clarence L. Hogan, both associate professors of Applied Physics, will occupy Gordon McKay professorships of Applied Physics.

At the Law School, Paul A. Freund has been appointed Royall Professor of Law, and will be succeeded as Charles Stebbins Fairchild Professor of Law by Henry M. Hart, Jr. '26, professor of Law.

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.